Skip to Main Content

Welcome to our Resource Guides!

Our Resource Guides have been developed to connect Gordon students and teachers with library resources. Curated by The Gordon Librarians, the Resource Guides link you to books, databases and websites.

Library Chat

chat loading...

The Library Latest

March: International Women’s Day: Top Feminist Reads in our Library
Here are some of the top feminist reads in our Library collection ahead of International Women’s Day this Friday March 8th!
February: Five Ways The Library Can Help With Your Studies
Welcome to all our new and returning students and staff for 2024! Here are five (of many!) ways you can utilise The Library to help with your studies!
December: Top 10 Festive Books and Films for the Ultimate Christmas Viewing Party: All Free, No Subscriptions Needed!
It’s the most wonderful time of the year! Here are a bunch of books and films available within our library collection for your ultimate Christmas viewing party! 
November: Exam Season! Five Study Tips
Happy Exam Season everyone! The final push—assignments, tests, exams, pracs and more—has begun, which means it is ever-important to maintain a consistent study schedule. Here are five tips to ensure you can study this November to the best of your ability!
October: Referencing Tips & Tricks
Welcome to Term 4! As we return to the swing of studies—finalising those last assignments and neatening any loose ends before the summer break—now is a fantastic time to check in with your referencing skills!
September: Easy Reads: Feel Nostalgic with these Picture Story Books
Writing for The Spectator, Sadie Nicholas writes: ‘reading children’s literature as adults can elicit benefits for us too...'
August: 'First Nations Classics': Reviving the Literary Landscape
We are incredibly excited to welcome into our libraries the new titles from the University of Queensland Press’ collection ‘First Nations Classics’! Here's a sneak peek into each title!
July: International Day of Friendship
Sunday July 30 is the International Day of Friendship, and this year we are celebrating the theme: “Sharing the human spirit through friendship”.
June: Original or Adaptation: Books That Have Been Adapted for the Big Screen
Stuck for some movie/reading recommendations? Look no further, because we have curated the ultimate list for your next tandem read-watch marathon!
May Special Edition: The Rise of AI: It’s not all that bad!
May: Mindful in May: Tips, tricks, and tools to check in with yourself
As we slowly but surely approach the middle of the year, it is a good reminder to sit and recognise how we might be feeling run down, burnt out, and just simply tired. This is where Mindful in May takes part.
April: School Holiday Reading Recommendations
Prepare your pumpkin spice lattes, because snug season is falling upon us! As we welcome on the Easter holidays, don’t forget to take home some of the newest books in our library collection! Here’s seven new titles to add to your autumn reading list.
March: The Difference Between Equity and Equality: International Women's Day 2023
International Women’s Day, held annually in March, ‘celebrates women’s achievements, raises awareness about discrimination, and takes action to drive gender parity' (IWD 2023).
February: Library Lover's Day: The Gordon Library's Top Picks
Let us celebrate Library Lover's Day with open arms, open doors, and (most importantly!) open books! Here are some of the most popular good-reads and some of the library staff’s top picks in our collection.
January: National Ditch New Year’s Resolution Day
Researchers suggest ‘people typically “give up” pursuing their New Year resolutions within the first month'... so let’s dissect our modern problem with commitment.
December: Top 10 Festive Books and Films for the Ultimate Christmas Viewing Party: All Free, No Subscriptions Needed!
It’s the most wonderful time of the year! Here are a bunch of books and films available within our library collection for your ultimate Christmas viewing party!
November: The 3 C's of November: Connect, Collaborate, and Celebrate
Hosted across the week of Saturday November 19 to Sunday November 27, the Social Inclusion Week is an opportunity for all Australians to Connect, Collaborate, and Celebrate!
October: Fashion Killer: Highlights from The Gordon's 80s Fashion Extravaganza
Picture this: It’s the 80s! Perms are in, puffy sleeves are the norm, A-Ha, Wham!, and Cyndi Lauper are on repeat, and you are seated front row at The Gordon’s fashion show. 
September: Your Ultimate Term Break Reading List
Calling all students and staff! With the term break looming and a full two weeks to relax and rejuvenate, it’s the perfect time to pick up some of the fresh titles we’ve added to the library collection! Here is your ultimate term break reading list!
August: Reading Inclusion & Wear It Purple Day
Awareness, Opportunity, Environment, and Collaboration; Wear It Purple day is speedily approaching, giving us the time to consider how much do we actually read into inclusion?
Go to Blog
title
Loading...