Library: Pathology : Videos &amp; Images

Videos & Images

Anatomy TV (Primal Pictures)
The Anatomy TV database includes the ‘Human Anatomy & Physiology’ and ‘Human Anatomy for Massage and Manual Therapies’ packages. These packages include 3D images and videos of anatomy and body systems, as well as techniques for massage and manual therapies for a range of conditions.
ClickView
Online videos covering topics across a range of courses. ClickView delivers digital educational videos to any computer or device and includes teaching notes, playlists, clipping tools and curriculum unit links.

Download the ClickView app for iOS, Android or Windows to view videos on your phone.
Films on Demand Allied Health Collection
Films On Demand Allied Health Collection features more than 360 documentary and educational videos and 18500 video segments that cover a range of subject areas for nursing and allied health.

Download the Films On Demand app for iOS, or Android to view videos on your phone.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more.

Download the Kanopy app for iOS or Android to view videos on your phone.
Safetyhub Streaming Videos
Online videos specialising in occupational health & safety across a range of industries. Available for viewing within The Gordon and externally using your Gordon login details.

Blood

10 Things to Know About: Blood
Blood is a vitally important part of the body. It provides the oxygen our organs need to survive, carries platelets that clot when we cut ourselves, and prevents us from getting infections. But it is also immensely complex.
Blood
This program looks at the properties, functions and composition of blood, as well as the treatment of various blood disorders.

Blood Collection

Basic Venipuncture
Learn the basic technique for drawing blood specimens by venipuncture according to the CLSI standards.
Performing a Venipuncture Using a Syringe
This clip demonstrates how to draw blood and transfer it to blood collection tubes using a syringe.
Performing a Venipuncture Using a Tube Holder
Tube holders are the most commonly used device for drawing blood samples for laboratory testing. This clip demonstrates proper technique for a successful tube-holder draw.
The Order of Draw: Why You Must Follow IT
This video explain the correct order of draw and why it is important.
Performing a Venipunture Using a Butterfly Needlie
Demonstrates the proper technique for drawing blood using a winged-blood collection (butterfly) set.
Is That Tube Full?
This video clip discusses how to know when the tube is perfectly filled and why every patient needs you to fill them precisely.
What is the Proper Angle of Insertion for Venipunctures?
This video explains why the angle in which a phlebotomy needle is important to the patient's safety and the success of the procedure.

Collecting Infant, Paediatric & Geriatric Samples

Geriatric Patients
This clip discusses how to overcome the challenges in finding and accessing veins on geriatric patients to obtain adequate samples of blood for laboratory testing.
Neonates
If you draw blood samples from neonates for laboratory testing, this clip provides advice on where veins are the easiest to locate and access.
Pediatric Venipunctures
Properly positioning your pediatric patients is critical to the success of the procedure. This clip demonstrates proper positioning with and without parental assistance.

Customer Service

Handling Problem Patients
When healthcare professionals understand the common denominator every problem patient has, caring for them becomes infinitely easier.
What Impressions Are You Giving Your Patients?
Patients draw conclusions on what the laboratory is like and its ability to produce accurate test results from the brief interaction they have with the one who draws their blood. What impression are you giving?

First Aid

First Aid Basic Life Support
This program from ClickView details the essential aspects of first aid as required to assist someone in need of help.
First Aid Emergencies-Community
This ClickView video looks at the main types of injuries that occur in the community and how they should be treated
First Aid Emergencies-Home
This ClickView video provides an explanation of the main types of injuries that occur in the home and how they should be treated
First Aid Techniques
A ClickView video which outlines how to respond to an emergency and how to treat a range of injuries, illnesses and emergencies

Infection Prevention & Control

Infection Control in Healthcare
This ClickView video outlines the four principles of infection control, examines standard precautions, and explores ways that organisations can limit the spread of infection.
Infection Control in Hospitals and Clinics
This video details the key personal and environmental factors that contribute to the spread of infection.

Pathology & Phlebotomy

Clinical Lab Technician: Phlebotomist
This video gives a brief insight into the role of a phlebotomist.

Patient & Sample Identification

Label that Sample!
This clip reinforces how critical sample labeling is and why it must be performed before you and the patient part ways.
Proper Patient Identification: Make No Exceptions!
Drawing blood samples from the wrong patient can be deadly, this video demonstrates how to confirm patient identification.
The Strange Case of Penny Allison
A training video produced by NHS Blood and Transplant to raise awareness of what could happen to your patient if you are not vigilant and do not adhere to your local transfusion policies and protocols.

Safety

Glove Use
This video explains the importance of wearing gloves during venepuncture.

Pathology