Veterinary Nursing

Anaesthesia and analgesia is a constantly advancing field and this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to take account of the latest techniques and considerations. This edition includes new chapters on pain assessment methods, anaesthesia for MRI and how to manage chronic pain.

This guide provides instant access to clinically relevant information on pain assessment, pharmaceutical and non-pharmaceutical treatment options, guidelines for managing acute and chronic pain, and unique aspects of pain management in dogs, cats, horses, cattle, birds, reptiles, ferrets, and rabbits.

This Manual provides veterinary nurses with a greater understanding of the requirements of exotic species, enabling them to modify and apply their skills to these cases.

Part B of the 9th edition covers small mammals, birds, reptiles, fish and amphibians. This book explains the important differences in physiology and metabolism between the species groups that may make them respond to and process drugs very differently.

This edition is a comprehensive yet clear introduction to exotic animal practice for technicians in the classroom and clinic setting alike. The book offers easy-to-follow descriptions of common procedures and techniques likely to present in exotic species.

This is the definitive reference book on the principles and practice of nursing exotic species. It not only covers husbandry, nutrition and handling, but provides an overview of diseases and treatments, and explores anatomy and chemical restraint. New coverage for this revised and enlarged second edition includes: emergency and critical care, radiography, and small marsupials such as sugargliders. In addition to the thorough explanations of appropriate home-care which will enable you to confidently advise clients, the book now also covers the care of hospitalised exotics.

Emergency care is one of the most important areas of veterinary medicine The introductory chapters, covering areas such as triage, catheterization and the assessment of shock and dyspnoea, sit alongside chapters that cover system specific emergencies, ranging from cardiac arrhythmias to uterine prolapse, and from corneal ulceration to fractures and luxations.