Individual Support

Written for all those working in social and health care settings who work with older adults, this practical guide constitutes a current and accurate reference for detecting and managing abuse and neglect. Based on more than a decade of research, education and training in elder mistreatment, the book combines theory and practice to offer a comprehensive set of guidelines to assess whether elder abuse and neglect has occurred.

Using research and grounded in sociological theory, this book offers alternative models for lessening the maltreatment of people living in nursing homes. It provides critical information for family members struggling with nursing home issues, nursing home employees, policy-makers, students and researchers concerned with elder care issues.

This book examines the many faces of Australia's ageing population, the social and health issues they contend with, and the steps being taken--and many that should be taken--to help ensure a more positive and productive later life.

The Australian Carer-A Training Manual for Aged Care Workers provides a solid introduction to the role and responsibilities of Personal Care Workers in contemporary aged care. Using a practical, easy-to-read approach, this book covers all aspects of aged care roles.

Both helpful and timely this carer’s resource includes dedicated sections on working in the long term care environment, protecting the person being cared for, and assisting with daily living and with specific care needs such as dementia and mental health issues.

This book conveys the knowledge needed to develop the skills required for nursing interventions and support of older people. It takes an evidence-based and person-centred approach to understanding and meeting older people's needs as well as problems that nurses and other practitioners deal with every day, such as pain, immobility, breathlessness, eating and drinking.

This DVD looks at the physical , psychological and psycho-social aspects of ageing and how impact on older people.

'Ageing and Development', provides a detailed and comprehensive overview of the theories and research in adult development into old age. Particular attention is given to theories of adjustment to loss, and to the threat of loss. The book also contains sections devoted to the psychology of advanced old age, to life in states of physical and/or mental frailty, and to the survival of the self in these circumstances.

This book uniquely combines disability and gerontological perspectives to explore both the unfolding challenges of aging and the practices and policies that can enhance the lives of older adults.

Health care professionals are now more frequently consulted about emotional and sexual matters by older patients. There is a wealth of information available about the psychological, medical and sociological processes of ageing that has become available in recent years.

This book provides students with complete explorations of each developmental stage of the lifespan, beginning with conception and concluding with an examination of successful aging. The book presents human development theory and research within a biopsychosocial framework, presenting information regarding biological, psychological, and social functioning during each significant period of the lifespan.

Using an adaptation of the Declaration of Sexual Rights from the World Association of Sexual Health, it provides readers with an innovative and evidence-based framework for achieving the sexual rights of older people. Drawing on interdisciplinary research, it explores the cultural and social locations of old age and its intersections with sexual orientation, gender identity, and intersex status.

This Handbook outlines the latest discoveries in the study of aging from bio-medicine, psychology, and socio-demography. The chapters delve into the most topical aspects of aging today - including biological mechanisms of aging, aging with health, active and productive aging, aging with satisfaction, aging with respect, and aging with dignity.

By using international examples and a multidisciplinary approach, this comprehensive textbook provides a broad understanding of ageing from a social perspective and analyses concepts of ageism, healthy ageing and positive ageing.

This book uniquely combines disability and gerontological perspectives to explore both the unfolding challenges of aging and the practices and policies that can enhance the lives of older adults.

This text presents positive images of aging while considering the many factors that contribute to how aging individuals experiences life. The book contains a comprehensive view that presents aging positively, portraying concepts of active aging and resiliency, and defining "productive aging".

The new edition of this highly useful and comprehensive guide to ageing covers subjects that have become more important since its first publication in 1992: 'baby boomers' and their dilemmas; living wills; and Alzheimer's disease.

This video demonstrates the need for awareness and commonsense in providing clients with the best possible care.

This edition presents the theories and concepts of aging along with appropriate nursing interventions. This comprehensive book helps you understand the unique physiologic and psychosocial changes that affect the elderly adult.

This book addresses the care of older people in the community, nursing and residential homes, and in the hospital setting. This text contains a broad range of up-to-date, evidence-based material covering aspects such as quality of life, mobility, social interaction, sexuality, community perspectives and the care of those with learning disabilities or mental health problems.

This book aims to help you understand how to care for older people in any care setting. It uniquely focuses on person-centred, humanised care in addition to physical care, helping you to examine attitudes towards older people in healthcare and combat negative stereotypes. The book takes a positive stance on ageing, celebrating the fact that in the Western world we live longer and healthier with a focus on the wellbeing of the individual.

By using international examples and a multidisciplinary approach, this comprehensive textbook provides a broad understanding of ageing from a social perspective and analyses concepts of ageism, healthy ageing and positive ageing.

This book addresses issues such as choice, partnership, and community development to enable you to work with older people to ensure that their health needs are addressed. The text encourages practitioners to reflect upon and question the assumptions about the health and life-quality expectations for which older people have the potential.

By using international examples and a multidisciplinary approach, this comprehensive textbook provides a broad understanding of ageing from a social perspective and analyses concepts of ageism, healthy ageing and positive ageing.

This book takes an inter-disciplinary approach to supporting older people within the community and in care. It represents current Australian policies and practices and takes a holistic view of the older person, and emphasises the positive aspects of the ageing process, maintaining that people age in healthy ways and continue to be an integral part of their families and communities.

This book conveys the knowledge needed to develop the skills required for nursing interventions and support of older people. It takes an evidence-based and person-centred approach to understanding and meeting older people's needs as well as problems that nurses and other practitioners deal with every day, such as pain, immobility, breathlessness, eating and drinking.

This helpful book offers a simple and commonsense introduction to the care of patients in the generalist setting for whom a palliative approach is deemed appropriate.

This text presents positive images of aging while considering the many factors that contribute to how aging individuals experiences life. The book contains a comprehensive view that presents aging positively, portraying concepts of active aging and resiliency, and defining "productive aging".

The new edition of this highly useful and comprehensive guide to ageing covers subjects that have become more important since its first publication in 1992: 'baby boomers' and their dilemmas; living wills; and Alzheimer's disease.

This DVD will assist workers in community and aged care services with the knowledge, skills and values required when caring for older clients at the end of their life using a palliative approach.

The DVD dispels negative stereotypes of older people through a series of interviews with a number of older people chosen.