Library: Individual Support: Provide Home &amp; Community Care Support Services

Provide Home & Community Care Support Services

Abuse & Neglect

Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation of Older Persons by Lorin A. Baumhover; S. Colleen Beall
Call Number: 362.6 ABU (City)
Publication Date: 1996
Written for all those working in social and health care settings who work with older adults, this practical guide constitutes a current and accurate reference for detecting and managing abuse and neglect. Based on more than a decade of research, education and training in elder mistreatment, the book combines theory and practice to offer a comprehensive set of guidelines to assess whether elder abuse and neglect has occurred.
Elder Care Catastrophe: Rituals of Abuse in Nursing Homes & What You Can Do About It by J. David Knottnerus; Jason Ulsperger
Call Number: 362.16 ULS (City)
Publication Date: 2010
Using research and grounded in sociological theory, this book offers alternative models for lessening the maltreatment of people living in nursing homes. It provides critical information for family members struggling with nursing home issues, nursing home employees, policy-makers, students and researchers concerned with elder care issues.

Opal Home; Opal Follow by Australian Broadcasting Corporation
Call Number: 362.6 OPA (City)
Publication Date: 2017
The 7:30 Report Investigation into the accreditation of nursing homes in Australia
Protecting the Vulnerable: Identifying and Responding to Elder Abuse by Video Education Australiasia
Call Number: 362.2 PRO (City)
Publication Date: 2007
This program provides an overview of elder abuse, including physical, sexual, financial and psychological abuse and neglect.

Community Care for Older People

Ageing Well at Home: Measuring the Impact of Community Care for Older People Cardona, B, Stebbing, A, Fine, M, Duncan, C, Samsa, P & Eager, K 2017, Ageing well at home: measuring the impact of community care for older people, Macquarie University, Australian Health Services Research Institute, University of Wollongong.
Older Australians need to consider home modifications sooner

Legal & Ethical Considerations

Older Residents and the Law: Accomodation, Care and Legal Rights in Victoria by Robert Phillips
Call Number: 362.60994 PHI (City)
Publication Date: 2007
Outlining the legal rights of older residents in Victoria, this is an essential reference for advocates and advisors, including aged care workers, social workers, lawyers, financial advisors, aged care accommodation owners and operators, as well as older people and their family and friends.

Duty of Care by Fran Haarsma Productions
Call Number: 362.1 DUT (City)
Publication Date: 2003
This video demonstrates the need for awareness and commonsense in providing clients with the best possible care.
Fire Safety, Evacuation & Emergency Response Procedures: A Training Manual for Australian Aged Care Facilities by Working Pictures
Call Number: 363.379 FIR (City)
Publication Date: 2009
This training presentation details the latest fire safety, evacuation and emergency response procedures for Health Care Facilities.

Aged Care Quality Regulation Overview 'Aged care quality regulation overview' 2017, Australian Nursing & Midwifery Journal, vol. 20, no. 11, p. 14, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, EBSCOhost.

Organisation Policies & Procedures

Hazards and Risks for Home Care Workers in Aged Care & Disability by Ideas That Work
Call Number: 362.0425 HAZ (City)
Publication Date: 2007
This DVD teaches home care workers how to identify, report and record hazards for their clients' safety, their own safety and for ongoing best practice.
Manual Handling for Support Workers in Home Care by Ideas That Work
Call Number: 362.14 MAN (City)
Publication Date: 2011
This DVD explains clearly what manual handling is in home care, potential risks and hazards and what to do about them and how to perform home care tasks safely and avoid strain and injury.
Safe Houses: Making the Workplace Safe for Home Care Workers by Ideas That Work
Call Number: 362.14 SAF (City)
Publication Date: 2001
Covers topics such as: client behaviour, changing sheets on a bed, clothes washing, cleaning bathrooms, vacuuming and washing floors.

The Australian Carer by Helen Croft; Sarah Croft
Call Number: 362.60994 CRO (City)
Publication Date: 2016
The Australian Carer-A Training Manual for Aged Care Workers provides a solid introduction to the role and responsibilities of Personal Care Workers in contemporary aged care. Using a practical, easy-to-read approach, this book covers all aspects of aged care roles.
Caring in the Community: A Training manual for Home and Community Carers by Helen Croft
Call Number: 362.60994 CRO (City)
Publication Date: 2011
Personal carers in Australia’s care environment offer crucial daily support to the frail aged, to those with a disability and to primary carers. Caring in the Community provides a solid, practical introduction to the role and responsibilities for workers caring for clients in their own homes.
Long-Term Caring: Residential, Home and Community Aged Care by Karen Scott; Margaret Webb; Sheila Sorrentino
Call Number: 610.7360994 SCO (City)
Publication Date: 2018
Both helpful and timely this carer’s resource includes dedicated sections on working in the long term care environment, protecting the person being cared for, and assisting with daily living and with specific care needs such as dementia and mental health issues.

Policies & Programs

Working in Home & Community Care

The Australian Carer by Helen Croft; Sarah Croft
Call Number: 362.60994 CRO (City)
Publication Date: 2016
The Australian Carer-A Training Manual for Aged Care Workers provides a solid introduction to the role and responsibilities of Personal Care Workers in contemporary aged care. Using a practical, easy-to-read approach, this book covers all aspects of aged care roles.

Living Well at Home – CHSP Good Practice Guide
Towards an Enabling Approach in Community Care: Empowering People, Enhancing Independence, Enriching Lives Human Services-Ageing, Disability and Home Care 2010, Towards an enabling approach in community care: empowering people, enhancing independence, enriching lives, NSW Government.