Research & Referencing - What research methods should I use? - Library Website

chat loading...

Have a question? Chat with the Library from 8:30am - 5pm Monday - Thursday and 8:30am - 4pm on Fridays

You can also check our FAQs for answers

Read

The research methods you choose will depend on the following 5 considerations:

Research question.
The type of research question you want to answer will determine what methods are appropriate. For example, if you are trying to measure a specific phenomenon, a quantitative method might be more suitable. However, if you are exploring a complex issue, a qualitative method might be more appropriate.
Data availability.
Consider the type and amount of data available so that you may choose a method that is suitable for collecting and analysing that data.
Resources.
Consider the resources available such as time, funding, and personnel. Use these considerations to choose a method that can be implemented within your constraints.
Ethical considerations.
Consider the ethical implications of the research methods you are considering to choose methods that are ethical and respectful of participants.
Expertise.
Consider your own expertise and skills to choose methods that you feel comfortable using and that you have the necessary training to implement.

Resources on research methods:

Social research methods : qualitative and quantitative approaches by W. Lawrence Neuman
Call Number: 300.72 NEU
Publication Date: 2014
Social Research Methods: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods is a highly regarded text that presents a comprehensive and balanced introduction to both qualitative and quantitative approaches to social research with an emphasis on the benefits of combining various approaches.
Basics of social research : qualitative and quantitative approaches by Neuman, William Lawrence
Call Number: 300.72 NEU
Publication Date: 2014
Doing social research -- Theory and social research -- Ethics in social research -- Reviewing the scholarly literature and planning a study -- Qualitative and quantitative measurement -- Qualitative and quantitative sampling -- Survey research -- Experimental research -- Nonreactive research and secondary analysis -- Analysis of quantitative data -- Field research -- Historical-comparative research -- Analysis of qualitative data -- Writing the research report.
Doing Research in Social Work and Social Care by Catherine Flynn; Fiona McDermott
Call Number: 361.32 FLY
Publication Date: 2017
From understanding the concepts of research and gathering data, to writing it all up and sharing knowledge, this book will guide your students to become researchers by giving them: a confident start with clarity on core concepts and getting it right ethically step-by-step guidance at each point in the research process, showing them diversity in approaches, the impact of context and how to overcome problems case studies of how real researchers embrace the challenges, surprises and successes of research an emphasis on the person in context, so their research is reflective of the realities of social work and social care practice a guide to writing it up and achieving impact and positive change with research.
Do it yourself social research by Wadsworth, Yoland
Call Number: 300.72 WAD
Publication Date: 2011
Over three decades this bestselling user-friendly introduction has been used by thousands of students, professionals and community groups to kick start their social research projects.
Introduction to Social Research by Keith F. Punch
Call Number: 300.72 PUN
Publication Date: 2005
This book offers an excellent description of quantitative and qualitative design and analysis taught in the context of three inquiry pathways: knowledge development, social inquiry, and social research. Furthermore, it provides an excellent overview of both quantitative and qualitative methods with regard to their different epistemologies, methods and techniques.
Researching Social Life by Nigel Gilbert (Editor); Paul Stoneman (Editor)
Call Number: 300.72 RES
Publication Date: 2016
Paul Stoneman and Nigel Gilbert breathe new energy into this classic bestselling textbook providing clear, relevant advice and extensive coverage of all the research methods you need to understand today's society. Packed full of examples from across the social sciences, Researching Social Life sets out all of the challenges and opportunities of interpreting and conducting research with qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods. The book follows the chronology of a typical research project, from initial conception through to the collection, management and analysis of data; it also includes material on how best to write up and disseminate your research.
Social Research by Sotirios Sarantakos
Call Number: 301.072 SAR
Publication Date: 2013
Social research is about discovery, it allows us to expand the horizons of the known, delve into new ideas and develop new conclusions about all aspects of life. But in order to carry out our own research, or to confidently interpret others' work, we need to understand some basic practicalities and theories of research. This 4th edition of Social Research provides students with comprehensive explanation of a wide-range of methods, the philosophies that underpin them and the debates that surround them. It follows a logical structure that shows how research progresses from one stage to the next, how decisions are made, how options are chosen and how conclusions are drawn.
Theory and Methods in Social Research by Bridget Somekh (Editor); Cathy Lewin (Editor)
Call Number: 300.72 THE
Publication Date: 2011
This new edition provides a scholarly and readable introduction to all the key qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and methods, enabling postgraduate and masters-level students and new researchers to reflect on which ones suit their needs and to receive guidance on how to find out more. With chapters written by experienced research practitioners, this second edition has been extensively expanded and updated.

Successful Qualitative Research by Virginia Braun; Victoria Clarke
Call Number: 300.72 BRA
Publication Date: 2013
This is an accessible, practical textbook. It sidesteps detailed theoretical discussion in favor of providing a comprehensive overview of strategic tips and skills for starting and completing successful qualitative research. Uniquely, the authors provide a "patterns framework" to qualitative data analysis in this book, also known as "thematic analysis." The authors walk you through a basic thematic approach, and compare and contrast this with other approaches.
Case study research methods by Gillham, Bill
Call Number: 300.722 GIL
Publication Date: 2000
1. Case study research: underlying principles -- 2. Case study research: the qualitative dimension -- 3. Research preliminaries -- 4. Evidence: the primary concern -- 5. Evidence: what to look out for -- 6. Written and electronically stored material -- 7. Observation: looking and listening -- 8. Interviewing -- 9. Quantitative data in case study research -- 10. Physical artefacts -- 11. The research report: analyzing and presenting your findings --

Journal texts:

Qualitative research methods I: Emotionally engaged approaches to working with vulnerable participants.
This report highlights the need for distinct approaches in qualitative research when working with the pain of marginalised and vulnerable communities. Firstly, it argues for a need to incorporate 'emotionally engaged research' that acknowledges complicated entanglements between researchers and those we work with, particularly when conditions of pain are present. Secondly, it traces work in sensitive contexts to highlight effective strategies that aim to 'do no harm' and may also become a catalyst for easing pain. Thirdly, it identifies barriers to emotionally engaged work including the need to rethink training and support for researchers.
Qualitative Methods in Special Education Research.
Qualitative research methods are used within special education research to provide insights about how and why phenomena occur. They can, however, be misunderstood and applied inappropriately. Our aim in this article is to provide an overview of qualitative methods, including their purpose, contributions to research involving students with learning disabilities, limitations, and quality indicators for methodological rigor. Additionally, we highlight common qualitative methods and data sources. We review a recent study that exemplifies the use of qualitative methods in the field. Our take‐home message is that qualitative methods can provide valuable in‐depth information about how and why phenomena occur, but they are not intended to support causal relationships or large‐scale generalizability.

The Mixed Methods Reader by Vicki L. Plano Clark (Editor); John W. Creswell (Editor)
Call Number: 300.72 MIX
Publication Date: 2007
"It premieres the most adept researchers in the field who have bravely and soundly followed mixed methodology approaches." -NACADA (National ACademic ADvising Association) In recent years, researchers have begun to combine quantitative and qualitative approaches within single study research designs. As such, the literature on mixed methods research has grown at a rapid pace. While more methodological books addressing mixed methods are becoming available, the foundational writings of this field are still scattered across diverse disciplines and their wide range of publications outlets, leaving students and researchers at a disadvantage to find the exemplary or model studies to help them understand how to conduct their own mixed methods research.

Research methods for leisure and tourism by Veal, Anthony James
Call Number: 338.4791 VEA
Publication Date: 2018
Part I: Preparation -- 1. Introduction: what, why and who? -- 2. Approaches to leisure and tourism research -- 3. Starting out - research plans and proposals -- 4. Research ethics -- 5. The range of research methods -- 6. Reviewing the literature -- Part II: Data collection -- 7. Secondary data: sources and analysis -- 8. Observation -- 9. Qualitative methods: introduction and data collection -- 10. Questionnaire surveys: typology, design and coding -- 11. Experimental research -- 12. Case study method -- 13. Sampling: quantitative and qualitative -- Part III: Data analysis -- 14. Analysing secondary data -- 15. Analysing qualitative data -- 16. Analysing quantitative data -- 17. Statistical analysis -- Part IV: Communicating results -- 18. Preparing a research report.
Marketing Research for the Tourism, Hospitality and Events Industries by Bonita Kolb
Call Number: 338.4791 KOL
Publication Date: 2018
This is a user-friendly textbook that covers qualitative, quantitative and social media methods, providing tourism, hospitality and events students and course leaders with an accessible guide for learning and teaching marketing research. The book contains essential information on how to conduct research on visitor trends, experiences, preferences and lifestyles, shedding light on customer preferences, product changes, promotional efforts and pricing differences to ensure the destination is successful. It offers guidance on how to write, conduct and analyze the results of surveys, or use qualitative methods such as focus groups, interviews, projective techniques and observation. It also illustrates how social media can be used as a new means to determine visitor preferences by analyzing online data and conversations.
Tourism Research by Gayle Jennings
Call Number: 338.4791 JEN
Publication Date: 2011
Students studying tourism are required to undertake a study in research techniques and methodologies as part of their tourism degree. Major aims of this new edition are to encourage students to think about the importance of research in tourism appreciating the role that it plays in the tourism industry as well as to familiarise students with the wide diversity of research strategies available to them. Tourism Research, second edition, introduces the concept of qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods research methodologies associated with tourism. It also considers indigenous and cross-cultural methodologies. The relationship of tourism research, its underpinnings, sources and methods, with the implications for tourism development, planning and management are clearly established and discussed.

Understanding Research for Nursing Students by Peter Ellis
Call Number: 610.73072 ELL
Publication Date: 2016
Do your students find research difficult to engage with or want a textbook that is easy to read? Right from the start of their programme it is crucial for nursing students to be able to understand and evaluate current research to support their learning. This book helps students recognise what good research is by providing an introductory guide to the main research methodologies used in nursing. It simplifies complex terminology and puts research into context for nursing students, with clear examples and case studies. Key features · Written in clear, easy to follow language · Each chapter is linked to relevant NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters

Action Research by Ernest T. Stringer; Alfredo Ortiz Aragón
Call Number: 300.72 STR
Publication Date: 2020
Action Research is an invaluable guide to both novice and experienced researchers from a diversity of disciplines, backgrounds, and levels of study for understanding how action research works in real-life contexts. The Fifth Edition builds on the experiences of the authors by acknowledging the dramatic changes taking place in our everyday lives, including developments of social and digital media that have become central to modern life. Author Ernest T. Stringer and new co-author Alfredo Ortiz Aragón aim to provide a meaningful methodology arising from their extensive field experience for both students and practitioners. Presenting research that produces practical, effective, and sustainable outcomes to real-world problems, Action Research helps students see the value of their research in a broader context, beyond academia, to effecting change on a larger scale. Additional resources can be found at the authors' website
Action Research Primer - Chapter 3 : Developing a Research Plan and Identifying a Research Question by Patricia H. Hinchey
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2008
Chapter Three of the book "Action Research Primer," by Patricia H. Hinchey is presented. It highlights several practical steps in developing action research project, which include developing a question, formulating a research plan, systematically collecting data and developing and implementing an action plan. It presents a list which offers an accessible and useful overview of elements common to research plan.

Watch

Watch the following short clip for an introduction to research methods and methodologies.

How do I develop research questions?

How do I conduct a literature review?

	Home
	Resource Guides
	Books & eBooks
	Articles & Reports
	Video Streaming
	Standards
	Research & Referencing
	Learning Lounge Pre LLN Test More Support Services
	Resource Guides Copyright Digital Literacy Book a Library Tour/Class Book a Library Consultation Suggest a Library Resource Request a Resource Report
	Bookshop
	Library Account Print, Scan & Photocopy Wi-Fi Connection Guides Office 365 More Tech Help
	FAQs

Library Website: Research & Referencing - What research methods should I use?