Library: Nursing: Analyse &amp; Respond to Client Health Information

Analyse and Respond to Client Health Information

Anatomy TV (Primal Pictures)

The Anatomy TV database includes the ‘Human Anatomy & Physiology’ and ‘Human Anatomy for Massage and Manual Therapies’ packages. These packages include 3D images and videos of anatomy and body systems, as well as techniques for massage and manual therapies for a range of conditions.

Blood Disorders

Anaemia
Anaemia is a deficiency in the number or quality of red blood cells. This website explains the causes, symptoms, diagnosis and treatment of this condition.
Blood Count
This website explains how a full blood count (FBC) test is performed, and the conditions that can be diagnosed using this test.
Haemophilia
This webpage from the haemophilia Foundation Australia contains links to factsheets, videos and other resources on this bleeding disorder
Hematocrit
This website explains why a hematocrit test is performed to measure the percentage of the volume of whole blood that is made up of red blood cells and how the test is performed.
Leukemia
Leukaemia is a cancer that affects the blood and bone marrow where blood cells are made. This website gives a general overview of the disease, as well as detailed information about the for variants of leukemia.
Leukopenia
This website explains the various causes of leukopenia-a decrease in white blood cells-and the effect this has on the body.
Leukocytosis
This website explains how leukocytosis-an increase in white blood cells is diagnosed and treated.
Lymphoma
What is lymphoma? Find out about the symptoms, diagnosis and treatment options for Hodgkin lymphoma and non-Hodgkin lymphoma.
Polycythemia Vera
Polycythemia vera is a bone marrow disease that leads to an abnormal increase in the number of blood cells. This website explains the symptoms, diagnosis and treatment of this condition.
Thrombocytopenia
Thrombocytopenia is any disorder in which there is an abnormally low amount of platelets. This websites explains the causes, symptoms and treatment of this condition.
Thrombocytosis
This website explains how an increase in platelets-called thrombocytosis-is diagnosed and managed.

Anemia
Chemotherapy affects red blood cell production, which can cause anemia. Learn more about symptoms of anemia and ways to reduce your risk.
What is Leukemia?
This video explains leukemia, a cancer of the blood which causes large numbers of immature blood cells to be produced, resulting in reduced production of healthy blood cells.
Leukocytosis (Video)
This video explains the causes of leukocytosis-an increase of white blood cells and how the condition is treated.
How Lymphoma Develops
Learn how lymphoma, a blood cancer, develops and spreads throughout the body.
Polycythemia
This video explains the various causes of different types of polycythemia-an increase in the amount of red blood cells.

Clinical Hematology: Theory & Procedures by Mary Louise Turgeon
Call Number: 616.5 TUR (City)

Publication Date: 2012

Now in its Fifth Edition, Clinical Hematology covers the theory and procedures involved in the medical diagnosis and treatment of various disorders of the blood and bone marrow.
Haematology by Andrew Blann; Gavin Knight; Gary Moore
Call Number: 616.15 MOR (City)

Publication Date: 2010

Haematology provides an overview of the study of blood and how it interfaces with all organs and tissues to mediate essential transport and regulatory functions. It provides a firm grounding in the physiology of blood, and the key pathophysiological states that can arise.
Haematology at a Glance by Atul B. Mehta; Victor Hoffbrand
Call Number: 616.15 MEH (City)

Publication Date: 2009

Haematology at a Glance is an accessible introduction and revision text for medical students. This book provides a user-friendly overview of haematology to encapsulate all that the student needs to know about blood and blood-related conditions and disorders.
Hematology: Clinical Principles and Applications by Bernadette F. Rodak; George A. Fritsma; Elaine Keohane
Call Number: 616.15 ROD (City)

Publication Date: 2011

Featuring hundreds of full-colour photos, Hematology: Clinical Principles and Applications explores the essential aspects of hematology. It explains different types of blood cells and the pathology of various blood-related conditions.

Cardiovascular System

Cardiovascular Care Made Incredibly Easy!
Call Number: 616.10231 CAR (City)

Publication Date: 2009

This completely updated Second Edition is the ideal reference for those entering or needing a refresher in cardiovascular nursing care. This one-of-a-kind book brings together the broad knowledge nurses need to be confident in cardiovascular care.
Heart Disease by Adrian Chenzbraun
Call Number: 616.12 CHE (City)

Publication Date: 2010

This addition to The Facts series stresses the importance and feasibility of primary prevention by appropriate life-style changes, whilst helping the reader to understand and cope with existing heart disease. The book is structured to provide information on topics ranging from basic cardiovascular anatomy and physiology, as needed to understand the various pathologies discussed, to symptoms, clinical situations, investigations and available treatments.

Cardiovascular Assessment - 12-Lead Electrocardiogram
Cyanosis Symptoms and Causes. Central and Peripheral Cyanosis
This video explains how a lack of oxygen in the blood leads to cyanosis.
Digital Subtraction Angeography - Imaging in Medicine
Most Common Blood Tests
Transesophageal Echocardiogram

Arterial and Venous Doppler Ultrasound
A Doppler ultrasound test uses reflected sound waves to see how blood flows through a blood vessel. This website explains the different types of tests and what they are used for.
Blood Pressure: What is Your Target?
This website explains what blood pressure is, how it is tested and how normal and high blood pressure is defined.
Blue Discoloration of the Skin
This website descirbes how a lack of oxygen in the blood causes cyanosis-a blueish colouration on the skin and/or mucous membranes.
Circulatory System
Information from Visible Body about the circulatory system, including the function of blood, the anatomy and function of the heart, blood vessels, pulmonary and systemic circulation and diseases and disorders of the circulatory system.
ECG Test
An electrocardiogram (ECG) is a medical test that detects cardiac (heart) abnormalities by measuring the electrical activity generated by the heart as it contracts. The ECG can help diagnose a range of conditions
Echocardiogram
This website describes why and how an echocardiogram is performed. It includes a short video of a heart being viewed during an echocardiogram procedure.
What is an Arrhythmia?
This website looks at the symptoms, diagnoses, treatments and management of arrhythmias.

What do Australians die from?
Coronary heart disease is the most common underlying cause of death in Australians, responsible for one in 10 deaths.

Chemistry

Chemistry for the Biosciences by Jonathan Crowe; Tony Bradshaw
Call Number: 540.078 CRO (City)

Publication Date: 2014

Chemistry for the Biosciences introduces students to all the chemistry they need to understand the biological world. With topics drawn from organic, physical and inorganic chemistry, students will encounter a broad range of essential concepts to master.

Matter, Elements & Atoms

Digestive System

Barium Enema
This website describes the barium enema procedure, including preparing the patient and the risks and follow-up of the procedure.
Barium Swallow
This brochure tells you about a barium swallow. It includes the benefits and the risks, what happens before, during and after the procedure.
Colonoscopy
This website outlines the colonoscopy procedure, from preparing a patient to aftercare and side-effects and complications.
Digestive System
Find out all about the Digestive System with this website from Visible Body. Includes information on the anatomy and physiology of the digestive system, ingestion, peristalsis, accessory organs, the absorption of nutrients and elimination of wastes and common diseases and disorders of the digestive system.
Faecal Occult Blood Tests
This website explains how a faecal occult blood test is performed, and how the results are interpreted, as well as the follow-up procedures that may be required.
Hematemesis, Melena & Hematochezia
A section of a book discussing these three conditions.
Citation: Walker HK, Hall WD, Hurst JW, eds 1990, Clinical Methods: The History, Physical, and Laboratory Examinations. 3rd ed, Butterworths, Boston, .
Sigmoidoscopy
This website explains how a sigmoidoscopy, or colonoscopy, is performed and the conditions that can be diagnosed using this procedure.
Stool Culture
This website gives a definition of stool cultures, and explains how and why they may be taken.

Oxford Handbook of Gastrointestinal Nursing by Christine Norton; Annmarie Nunwa; Claire Taylor; Kathy Whayman; Julia Williams
Call Number: 610.73677 OXF (City)

Publication Date: 2008

This book summarizes the current state of knowledge in gastrointestinal nursing and provides guidelines on the management of patients with gastrointestinal disorders. Organized into three sections covering the principles of gastrointestinal nursing, the sections of the gut, and specific disorders of the digestive system, this handbook offers a wealth of information on how to plan, implement, manage, and evaluate nursing care for gastrointestinal patients, whether in the pediatric or adult setting.

How a Gastroscopy is Carried Out
This video explains how a gastroscopy is performed, allowing the doctor to see inside a patient's mouth, stomach and the beginning of the duodenum.
Perforation & Peritonitis
This video demonstrates how a perforated ulcer can cause acute peritonitis.

Ear Conditions

Online Videos
Websites

Adult Hearing Test
This video demonstrates how an otoscopy and audiometry are performed to test for hearing function.
Causes of Hearing Loss
Age, disease, injury, or repeated exposure to loud noise can damage the various structures of the ear and interfere with hearing.
Otoscopy (Ear Examination) - ENT
This video outlines how to conduct an ear examination using an otoscope.
Vertigo, Causes, Signs and Symptoms, Diagnosis and Treatment.
Vertigo is a condition where a person has the sensation of moving or of surrounding objects moving when they are not.

Audiometry
This video explains how an audiometry test is used to test a person's hearing ability. Normal and abnormal test results are also discussed, as well as conditions which may be diagnosed using an audiometry test.
Deafness-A Range of Causes
This website explains the anatomy of the ear as well as a range of conditions that cause various types of deafness
Dizziness & Vertigo
This website explains the illnesses and conditions that may cause dizziness and vertigo, as well as how they can be treated and managed.
Ear Examination
This websites explains how an ear examination is performed and the conditions that can be diagnosed using an otoscope.
Otalgia (Earache)
This website describes the various causes of both primary and referred otalgia and how to examine a person complaining of this condition. Links to related and underlying conditions are also included.
Tinnitus
This website explains the symptoms, causes and management of this condition.

Eye Conditions

Fluorescein Angiography
This website explains how a fluorescein angiography test is used to test for conditions such as macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, retinal vein occlusions and central serous retinopathy.
Ophthalmoscopy
This website explains how an ophthalmoscopy test is used to examine the retina, optic disc, choroid, and blood vessels of the eye.
Slit-Lamp Examination
This website explains how a slit-lamp examination is used to examine the structures at the front of the eye, to detect conditions including cataracts, macular degeneration and retinal detachment.
Tonometry
This website explains how a tonometer is used to test the pressure in someone's eyes and to screen for glaucoma.
Vision Tests
This website explains how vision tests are used to determine a person's ability to see fine details and distinguish between colours

Fluorescein Angiography
This video demonstrates how a fluorescein angiography is performed to detect conditions such as macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, retinal vein occlusions and central serous retinopathy.
Principles of Ophthalmoscopy
This video demonstrates how an opthalmoscope is used to examine different structures of the eye.

The Wills Eye Manual by Adam T. Gerstenblith; Michael P. Rabinowitz
Call Number: 617.7 GER (City)

Publication Date: 2012

Written in a concise outline format, this easy-to-read, pocket-sized reference is perfect for diagnosis and management of hundreds of ocular conditions. From symptom to treatment it covers every ocular disorder likely to be encountered in an office, emergency room, or hospital setting.

Endocrine System

Your Thyroid Problems Solved by Sandra Cabot; Margaret Jasinska
Call Number: 616.44 CAB(City)

Publication Date: 2006

Thyroid problems affect thousands of people around the world, and often go undiagnosed or mistaken for other ailments. This volume presents a comprehensive holistic guide to the treatment of these conditions.

Hyperthyroidism: Everything You Need to Know
Hyperthyroidism is the condition that occurs due to excessive production of thyroid hormones by the thyroid gland.
Hypothyroidism, Causes, Signs and Symptoms, Diagnosis and Treatment
Hypothyroidism, also called underactive thyroid or low thyroid, is a disorder of the endocrine system in which the thyroid gland does not produce enough thyroid hormone.
My Life with Addison's Disease
This video explains what it's like to suffer from this disorder of the adrenal glands and how it is managed and treated.

Endocrine Disorders
This website covers the different glands of the endocrine system, and the causes and treatments for many of the disorders and conditions that affect this system.
Endocrine System
Information and videos from Visible Body, including how the endocrine glands work and how hormones regulate body functions.
Hormonal System (Endocrine)
This website outlines the functions of the glads forming the endocrine system, along with the disorders associated with these glands. It also contains links to more information on the problems and conditions that affect the endocrine system.

Lymphatic System

Online Videos
Websites

How Lymphoma Develops
Learn how lymphoma, a blood cancer, develops and spreads throughout the body.

Lymph Node Biopsy
This website tells you how a lymph node biopsy is carried out, normal and abnormal results and the possible complications that may arise from the procedure.
Lymphatic System
Find out about the lymphatic system with this website from Visible Body. Learn about how the lymphatic system protects the body and how the immune system reacts and adapts to disease.
Lymphoma
What is lymphoma? Find out about the symptoms, diagnosis and treatment options for Hodgkin lymphoma and non-Hodgkin lymphoma.

Mechanisms of Disease

Lippincott's Guide to Infectious Diseases by Lippincott Williams and Wilkins Staff (Produced by)
Call Number: 616.90231 LIP (City)

Publication Date: 2011

This new A-to-Z reference provides an overview of 160 infectious diseases, from the common cold and otitis media to MRSA and other newer threats, including Bartonella quintana. Presented in a highly visual format, each disease is showcased in a two-page spread, formatted with consistent headings to make locating critical information easy.
The Human Body in Health and Disease by Kevin T. Patton; Gary A. Thibodeau
Call Number: 612 PAT (City)

Publication Date: 2014

Get a complete introduction to A&P with the resources that makes challenging concepts easier to understand! The Human Body in Health & Disease, 6th Edition includes 25 highly visual, student-friendly chapters that cover the most important structures and functions of the human body.
Infection Prevention and Control by Christine Perry
Call Number: 614.44 INF (City)

Publication Date: 2007

Infection prevention and control is an essential component of care, and an issue high on the agenda for both nurses and patients. This concise, accessible text provides students and newly qualified staff with an invaluable guide to the essential principles of infection prevention and control, equipping them with the knowledge and skills needed to provide safe and effective care.

The Inflammatory Response
The inflammatory response is initiated within hours of infection or wounding and is characterized by edema, or swelling, heat, redness, and pain at the site of an infection or injury. These characteristics reflect four changes in local blood vessels.

Musculoskeletal System

How Does an MRI Scan Work?
NIBIB's 60 Seconds of Science explains what is happening in the body when it undergoes an MRI.
Medical Imaging: CT, PET, SPECT and MRI
Learn how these tools work; what they reveal; and when, if ever, the doses of radiation might pose a significant risk.
Radiography: CAT Scan
Radiography: MRI
Medical X-Rays | How do they work?
X-Rays are a commonly used and vital investigation. In this video you will gain a clear understanding of the principles behind the function of X-Ray imaging, something that is key to the accurate interpretation of the images generated.

Atlas of Skeletal Muscles by Stone; Judith A. Stone; Robert J. Stone
Call Number: 611.730222 STO (East)

Publication Date: 2006

A study guide to the anatomy and actions of human skeletal muscles. This atlas is designed for use by students of anatomy and physiology, nursing, physical education, and other health-related fields. Useful for students and instructors, it helps students learn the main structures.
Examination of Musculoskeletal Injuries by Sandra Shultz; Peggy Houglum; David Perrin
Call Number: 617.1027 SHU (East)

Publication Date: 2016

This edition guides current and future athletic trainers and rehabilitation professionals through the examination and evaluation of musculoskeletal injuries both on and off the field. This updated fourth edition contains foundational information on a wide spectrum of injuries and the appropriate tests for examining and diagnosing them
Orthopedic Physical Assessment by David J. Magee
Call Number: 616.7075 MAG (East)

Publication Date: 2014

This book provides rationales for various aspects of assessment and covers every joint of the body, as well as specific topics including principles of assessment, gait, posture, the head and face, the amputee, primary care, and emergency sports assessment.

CT Scans
This website explains how CT scans use x-rays and digital technology to create cross-section images of the body.
MRI Scan
This video explains how MRI scanners use a magnetic field and radio waves to take pictures of the interior of the body.
Muscular System
Lots of information from Visible Body on muscles, including origin and insertion points, types of muscles tissue, attachments and actions and muscle contractions.
Skeleton
A great website from Visible Body on the skeleton, including the different types of bones, individual skeletal systems, joints and how the skeleton interacts with other systems and organs.
X-Ray Examinations
This website explains how x-ray examinations are used to generate images of the internal structures of the body.

Nervous System

EEG Test
This website explains how an electroencephalogram uses electrodes placed on the scalp to measure electrical activity within the brain.
Myelography
This website explains how myeography is used to examine and evaluate the spinal cord, nerve roots and spinal lining (meninges).
Nervous System
Information and videos from Visible Body about the nervous system, including functions of nerves, how neurons send messages, the brain's anatomy and function and the five senses
Screening for Cognitive Impairement
This website outlines different tests for dementia and cognitive impairment and the circumstance in which they should be used.
What is a Lumbar Puncture?
This website explains how a lumbar puncture is performed, how to prepare for the procedure, the reasons why cerebrospinal fluid may need to be taken and analysed and the risks and complications associated with the procedure.

The Nervous System: Basic Science and Clinical Conditions by Adina T. Michael-Titus; Patricia Revest; Peter Shortland
Call Number: 612.8 MIC (City)

Publication Date: 2010

This textbook on the nervous system covers the anatomy, physiology and biochemistry of the system, all presented in a clinically relevant context. This concise text covers the core anatomy, physiology and biochemistry in an integrated manner.

What to expect during a Myelogram at CDI
Patient education -- What to expect from your Myelogram procedure at Center for Diagnostic Imaging.
When is Electroencephalogram (EEG) Needed?

Renal System

Online Videos
Websites

Nitrogenous Waste Products
Urinary Tract Infection, Causes, Signs and Symptoms, Diagnosis and Treatment.
This video explains the causes and symptoms of urinary tract infections.

Cystoscopy
This website outlines the cytoscopy procedure, including why and how the procedure is performed and the recovery after the procedure.
Urinary System
Information and videos from Visible Body, including urinary system structures, kidney overview, urine formation, urine storage and urinary system pathologies.
Urologic Conditions
Search for information about a number of urologic conditions.

Reproductive System

Websites
Books

Cold Knife Cone Biopsy
This website explains how and why a cone biopsy is performed, as well as the risks associated with the procedure and after-care of the patient.
Cystoscopy
This website outlines the cytoscopy procedure, including why and how the procedure is performed and the recovery after the procedure.
Dilation & Currettage (D&C)
This website explains why a D&C may be carried out and describes how the procedure is performed.
Laporoscopy
This website explains why laporoscopy procedures are performed and how they are performed procedure.
Mammograms
Find information for both patients and health professionals on mammogram screening and diagnostic tests.
National Cervical Screening Program - About the Test
Information about how the Cervical Screening Test is done and who should have the test.
Prostate Cancer Testing
This website tells you about the two most common forms of testing for prostate cancer-digital rectal examination and prostate-specific antigen (PSA) testing.
Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) Test
This website contains information for both patients and health professionals on tests for prostate-specific antigen.
Reproductive System
Information and videos from Visible Body on the female and male reproductive structures and reproductive processes, including fertilisation, embryo development and birth.
What Tests Check for Blocked Fallopian Tubes?
Find out why a hystersalpingogram may be needed and how the procedure is carried out

Women's Health Handbook by Miriam Stoppard
Call Number: 613.04244 STO (City)

Publication Date: 2001

An essential health companion for women of all ages, the 'Women's Health Handbook' offers expert health care information and advice on women's health issues and features information on diagnostic and medical procedures.

Respiratory System

Respiratory Care: Assessing the Adult Respiratory System
Respiratory Exam
An entertaining video demonstrating how to conduct a thorough respiratory examination.

The Encyclopedia of Asthma and Respiratory Disorders by Tova Navarra
Call Number: 616.238003 NAV (City & East)

Publication Date: 2003

The Encyclopedia of Asthma and Respiratory Disorders provides a comprehensive look at various breathing disorders. It covers key afflictions, symptoms, causes of asthma and lung disease, treatments and medications, key terms and jargon, statistics, and breakthrough research.
RN Expert Guides: Respiratory Care by Rita Doyle; Jennifer Dellarossa Kowalak
Call Number: 616.2004231 RNE (City)

Publication Date: 2007

This quick-reference handbook presents the principles and practices of respiratory care in a clear, concise, easy-to-follow bulleted format enhanced by abundant illustrations and tables. The book covers anatomy and physiology, assessment, diagnostic test results, and specific treatments for a range of respiratory conditions.

Arterial Blood Gasses
This website explains what an arterial blood gas test looks for, how it is performed and what the results can show.
Dyspnea
This website provides a definition of dyspnea, as well as suggestions on how to manage and treat this symptom.
Hemoptysis
This website discusses the conditions which most often cause hemoptysis (coughing up blood)
Hypoxia & Hypoxemia
This website looks at how to recognise and treat hypoxia and hypoxemia
Pulmonary Function Tests
This website describes different types of pulmonary function tests and discusses how the results are interpreted.
Respiratory System
Visible Body tells you all about the respiratory system, including the functions of the respiratory system, functions of the different parts of the respiratory system, and diseases and disorders of the respiratory system,
Wheezing
This website describes this common symptom and the conditions associated with it.

Skin Conditions

Clinical Guide to Skin and Wound Care by Cathy Thomas Hess
Call Number: 617.14 CLI (City)

Publication Date: 2013

This compact guide is vital to providing optimal care. This book includes updated advice on skin care to enable you to accurately assess, plan, and monitor wound care using the most current, best nursing practices.

Examining Skin Growths
This video describes different types of skin cancers and growths and how to recognise them.

Common Skin Disorders
Find out about the causes, symptoms and treatment of over 40 common skin disorders
Erythema Nodosum
This websites explains the types, causes and treatments for erythema nodosum.
Your Skin, Pruritis and Itching
This website describes common causes and conditions associated with pruritis and the treatments used to prevent and treat the itching and underlying cause.