Library: Nursing: Implement &amp; Monitor Care of the Older Person

Implement & Monitor Care of the Older Person

Ebersole and Hess' Toward Healthy Aging: Human Needs and Nursing Response

Nursing Case Studies on Improving Health-Related Quality of Life in Older Adults

Nursing Older People: Realities of Practice

Advanced Health Directives

Aged Care Quality & Funding

Aged Care Funding Instrument (ACFI)
Aged Care Royal Commission Final Report
Content Validity of the ResCareQA: An Australian Residential Care Quality Assessment based on Resident Outcomes Courtney, M, O'Reiley, M, Edwards, H & Hassall, S 2011, 'Content validity of the ResCareQA: an Australian Residential Care Quality Assessment based on resident outcomes', The Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, vol. 28, no. 3, pp. 37-46, retrieved from Health Collection, Informit.
Three Areas of Focus for Improving Care of the Older Adult

Ageism & Ageing Stereotypes

Adult Development and Aging (eBook) by Fredda Blanchard-Fields; John Cavanaugh
Call Number: Online. Also available at City camps library- 155.6 CAV
Publication Date: 2019
This text covers the specific ages-stages of adult development and aging. The book focuses on positive aging and the gains and losses people experience across adulthood.
Advanced Australia: The Politics of Ageing by Mark Butler
Publication Date: 2015
This book explores the politics of ageing in Australia. Ageing will dominate Australian politics for years to come, touching almost every area of policy retirement incomes, housing, employment, urban design and more. This book makes the case for a much more positive approach to ageing that celebrates the continuing contribution older Australians make to our community.
Ageing in Australia: Challenges and Opportunities (eBook) by Kate O Loughlin; Colette Browning & Hal Kendig
Call Number: Online. Also available in hard copy at the City campus library-305.260994 AGE
Publication Date: 2017
This book examines the many faces of Australia's ageing population, the social and health issues they contend with, and the steps being taken--and many that should be taken--to help ensure a more positive and productive later life.
Ageism: Stereotyping and Prejudice Against Older Persons (eBook) by Todd D. Nelson
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2017
Current research and theory from a range of disciplines on ageism, discussing issues from elder abuse to age discrimination against workers, revised and updated. This volume collects the latest theory and research on prejudice against older people, offering perspectives from psychology, nursing, medicine, social work, and other fields.
Aging and Disability: Beyond Stereotypes to Inclusion by Caroline M. Cilio; Tracy A Lustig
Call Number: 305.26 AGI (City)
Publication Date: 2018
Many different groups of people are subject to stereotypes. To better understand how stereotypes affect older adults and individuals with disabilities, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, with support from AARP, convened a public workshop on October 10, 2017. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop.
Healthy Ageing and Aged Care by Maree Bernoth; Denise Winkler
Call Number: 362.63 HEA (City)
Publication Date: 2017
This book takes an inter-disciplinary approach to supporting older people within the community and in care. It represents current Australian policies and practices and takes a holistic view of the older person, and emphasises the positive aspects of the ageing process, maintaining that people age in healthy ways and continue to be an integral part of their families and communities.
Lifespan Development: Biopsychosocial Perspectives by Susan Krauss Whitbourne; Cynthia R. Davis
Call Number: 155 WHI
Publication Date: 2021
This book provides students with complete explorations of each developmental stage of the lifespan, beginning with conception and concluding with an examination of successful aging. The book presents human development theory and research within a biopsychosocial framework, presenting information regarding biological, psychological, and social functioning during each significant period of the lifespan.
Older People: Issues and Innovations by Rhonda Nay; Sally Garratt; Deirdre Fetherstonhaugh
Call Number: 610.7365 NAY (City)
Publication Date: 2014
This edition captures the underlying new approach in patient centred care and thinking from a multidisciplinary perspective. It highlights the most recent ideas and experiences of policy analysts, nurses, doctors, allied health professionals and the consumer experience from both Australia and Internationally.
Social Policy for an Aging Society by Carole B. Cox
ISBN: 9780826196569
Publication Date: 2015
This textbook views the challenges associated with aging as opportunities for policy development that stresses the rights of older adults rather than needs. The text distinguishes between "needs" and "rights" and describes those policies and services that best ensure that the rights of older adults are actually met.

Ageism Concerns In an Ageing Population

Aging with Grace

Chronic Renal Failure

Aged Care in Australia: A Guide for Health Care Workers by Anthony Rogers; Susan Barrett
Call Number: 362.60994 ROG (City)
Publication Date: 2011
This book contains information about ageing and health care services in Australia, as well as the key issues facing older people, carers, workers and communities.

Chronic Kidney Disease

Chronic Kidney Disease and the Older Patient

Delirium

Delirium: The Little Known Condition Costing Us Millions

Dementia

Depression in Older People

Late-Life Depression
In this program, three senior citizens describe how they have coped with this depression in later life.
Diversity in Sexuality Combined with a Diagnosis of Dementia Leads to Poor Health Outcomes for LGBTIQ Older Persons Hogan, S 2017, 'Diversity in sexuality combined with a diagnosis of dementia leads to poor health outcomes for LGBTIQ older persons', Australian Nursing and Medwifery Journal, vol. 25, no. 5, p. 24, retrieved from EBSCOhost CINAHL Plus with Full Text.
Mental health in aged care
This web report provides a snapshot of what is known about the mental health needs of individuals at the time of assessment for aged care services (that is, prior to, or at, entry to care) and of deaths due to suicide while accessing aged care, using linked data from the National Aged Care Data Clearinghouse and the National Death Index.

Diabetes in Older People

Diabetes in Old Age by Alan J. Sinclair; Trisha Dunning; Leocadio Rodríguez Mañas; Medha Munshi
Call Number: 618.97 DIA (City)
Publication Date: 2017
This edition features up-to-date and comprehensive information about the key aspects of managing older people with diabetes, predominantly type 2 diabetes. With a strong evidence-based focus throughout, the entire range of issues surrounding diabetes and its many complications are covered.

Dual Diagnosis

Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing (E-Book) by Katie Evans; Debra Nizette; Anthony O'Brien
Call Number: Online - Also available at the City Library: 616.890231 EVA (City)
Publication Date: 2017
This new edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect current research and changing attitudes about mental health, mental health services and mental health nursing in Australia and New Zealand. This text provides vital information for approaching the most familiar disorders mental health nurses and students will see in clinical practice, along with helpful suggestions about what the mental health nurse can say and do to interact effectively with consumers and their families.

Elder Abuse

Aged Care Act 1997
Elder Abuse - Laws and Limitations
Elder Abuse and COVID-19 Interview on ABC Law Report 6 October 2020.
National Elder Abuse Prevalence Study: Final Report
Recognising and Responding to Elder Abuse

End of Life & Palliative Care

Facilitating a Good Death in Residential Aged are Settings, with Support from Community Palliative Care O'Connor, M & Allison, M 2020, Facilitating a good death in residfential aged care settings, with support from community palliative care', Australian Nursing & Midwifery Journal, vol. 26, no. 10, p. 41, retrieved from CINAHL Plus with Full Text, EBSCOhost.

Health Assessment

Aged Care in Australia: A Guide for Health Care Workers by Anthony Rogers; Susan Barrett
Call Number: 362.60994 ROG (City)
Publication Date: 2011
This book contains information about ageing and health care services in Australia, as well as the key issues facing older people, carers, workers and communities.

The anatomy, physiology and function of all skin layers and the impact of ageing on the skin
Changes in the integument across the lifespan
A Guide to Optimal Health in Aged Care
Integrated Care Improves Outcomes for Older Cancer Patients
Older Adult Respiratory Assessment
Older Patient Specialling in Acute Hospital Wards: What's Your Policy? Cook, J, Palesy, D, Chenoweth, L & Lapkin, S 2020, 'Older patient specialling in acute hospital wards: what's your policy?', Australian Nursing & Midwifery Journal, vol. 26, no. 10, pp. 22-25, retrieved from CINAHL Plus with Full Text, EBSCOhost.

Hip Replacements in Older People

'What Do I Have to Lose?': Daphne Keith is the Oldest Australian to Get a Partial Hip Replacement
Rehabilitation for Older People Following a Hip Fracture Mitchell, R 2019, 'Rehabilitation for older people following a hip fracture', The Health Advocate, October 2019, pp. 26-28.

Nursing Older People

Psychosocial Aspects of Ageing

Fundamentals of Nursing by Patricia A. Potter; Anne Griffin Perry; Patricia Stockert; Amy Hall
Call Number: 610.73 POT
ISBN: 9780323677721
Publication Date: 2020
This edition prepares you to succeed as a nurse by providing a solid foundation in critical thinking, clinical reasoning, nursing theory, evidence-based practice, and patient-centered care in all settings. Care plans are presented within a nursing process framework, and case studies show how to apply concepts to nursing practice.

A Guide to Optimal Health in Aged Care
Older Adults
Older Australians at a Glance - AIHW
Quality of Life for Older Australians
Ageing Populations
Aging with Grace
We will learn the facts about aging. We will learn the importance of staying active. We will learn ways to adjust after retirement.

Theories of Ageing

Aged Care in Australia: A Guide for Health Care Workers by Anthony Rogers; Susan Barrett
Call Number: 362.60994 ROG (City)
Publication Date: 2011
This book contains information about ageing and health care services in Australia, as well as the key issues facing older people, carers, workers and communities.