Skip to Main Content

Nursing

Research & Apply Evidence to Practice

Library Class Session 2 (Evaluating Information) | Ethics & Analysis of Research | Evidence-Based Practice | Research Sources & Evidence

Evidence-based practice: across the health professions

Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice

Using Research in Healthcare Practice

Library Class Session 2 (Evaluating Information)

Exercise 1
Exercise 3

Choose one of these websites and use the CRAAP test to evaluate it.

Choose 1 article AND 1 website from the lists below and evaluate them

Journal Articles

Websites

Ethics & Analysis of Research

Clinical Ethics: A Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions on Clinical Medicine by Albert R. Jonsen; Mark Siegler; William J. Winslade
Call Number: 174.2 JON (City)

Publication Date: 2015

Clinical Ethics introduces the 'four-topic' method of approaching ethical problems (i.e., medical indications, patient preferences, quality of life, and contextual features). Each of the four chapters represents one of the topics. In each chapter, the authors discuss cases and provide comments and recommendations.
Navigating the Maze of Research: Enhancing Nursing and Midwifery Practice by Sally Borbasi & Debra Jackson
Call Number: 610.73072 NAV (City)

Publication Date: 2015

Enhancing Nursing and Midwifery Practice introduces the research process and provides insight into both how and why research is conducted. This book enables the reader to confidently engage in the research process and arrive at considered, informed clinical practice.

Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence for Nursing Practice by Mary Courtney
Call Number: 610.73 COU (City)

Publication Date: 2005

Evidence for Nursing Practice is written by an expert from Australia and provides clear step-by-step guidance on finding, appraising and using appropriate evidence for everyday use in a health care setting. This book takes a "how to" approach and offers sound advice and information to assist nurses in a range of key areas within their clinical practice.
Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice by Geri Lobiondo-Wood; Judith Haber
Call Number: 610.73072 LOB (City)

Publication Date: 2006

This is a comprehensive but easy-to-understand nursing research textbook that is designed to introduce students to research concepts and methods, as well as teach how to evaluate research and apply scientific evidence to practice.
Using Evidence to Guide Nursing Practice by Mary Courtney; Helen McCutcheon
Call Number: 610.73 USI (City)

Publication Date: 2010

Using Evidence to Guide Nursing Practice 2e is an invaluable 'how-to' guide for students and experienced nurses alike. Emphasis is placed on how to develop an evidence-based culture in the workplace, support clinicians to make decisions using the best available evidence.

Research Sources & Evidence

EBSCO Databases
Find articles from a selection of EBSCO databases, including Academic Search Premier, CINAHL Plus with Full Text and Australia\/New Zealand Reference Centre.

Health and Medicine
A Gale database containing full-text articles on nursing and allied health, as well as aged care, veterinary nursing, massage and fitness. Includes Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied health Dictionary.
Informit Databases
Search seven Informit databases that specialise in Australian based industry and academic publications - APAFT, Business, Engineering, Health, Humanities & Social Sciences, Indigenous and Literature & Culture collections.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Issues and Trends in Nursing by Gayle Roux; Judith A. Halstead
Call Number: 610.73 ROU (City)

Publication Date: 2009

Issues and Trends in Nursing synthesizes the scientific, technical, ethical, and organizational issues that are essential for nurses to understand in order to work in today's ever-evolving healthcare arena. This relevant, timely text covers issues pertinent to everyday practice, including safety, confidentiality, technology, regulatory compliance, and global health.
Nurses' Work: Issues Across Time and Place by Joan E. Lynaugh; Ellen D. Baer; Sylvia D. Rinker
Call Number: 610.7309 NUR (City)

Publication Date: 2007

"Nurses' Work" provides an incredible collection of significant historical scholarship and contemporary themes that encourages us to understand and think about nursing in the past and the future of nursing.

The Gordon acknowledges Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander people as the traditional custodians of the land on which we work, study and do business. We pay respect to their Elders, past and present.

View The Gordon's Reconciliation Plan.
The Gordon is an inclusive workplace and welcomes people of any age, culture, religion, gender, sexuality and ability.
Website feedback Tell us if you’ve spotted a typo or something else that needs fixing on this page.
PLEASE NOTE: By clicking on a link you may be directed to third party’s site. You should respect the intellectual property on that site.
If you leave The Gordon Library website, please be aware that the Institute does not endorse a linked site or guarantee the accuracy or currency of any information contained on a linked site.

ABN: 27 241 053 246. | TOID: 3044 | CRICOS Provider No. 00011G © Gordon Institute of TAFE 2017.

URL: https://thegordon.libguides.com/nursing

Print Page