Library: Nursing: Implement &amp; Monitor Nursing Care for a Person with Chronic Health Conditions

Implement & Monitor Nursing Care for a Person with Chronic Health Conditions

Chronic Care Nursing: Framework for Practice

Living with Chronic Illness and Disability: Principles for Nursing Practice

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions

Nursing Care Plans: Diagnosis, Interventions & Outcomes

Nursing Diagnoses: Definition and Classification 2018-2020

Autoimmune Disorders

Cancer

The Difference between Normal Cells & Cancer Cells
This video explains the difference between normal cells and cancer cells by looking at how they are formed and behave inside the body.

Basics of Oncology by Frederick O. Stephens; Karl Reinhard Aigner; Fred Stephens; K. Aigner
Call Number: 616.994 STE (City)

Publication Date: 2009

"Basics of Oncology" provides an easily understood and general overview of the basic medical, scientific and clinical aspects of cancer. Causes, pathology, clinical features, diagnostic investigations, treatments and outcomes are all carefully explained and discussed.
Breast Cancer for Dummies by Ronit Elk; Monica Morrow; Rosemary Moore
Call Number: 616.99449 ELK (City)

Publication Date: 2006

Up-to-date, accurate, truthful information about breast cancer. Breast Cancer For Dummies, Australian edition helps you deal with the overwhelming news that you or a loved one have been diagnosed with the disease.
Colorectal Cancer (eBook) by Daniel Swinson; Matthew Seymour
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2012

This pocketbook summarises the epidemiology and risk factors for developing colorectal cancer and the basic biology of the disease. Providing perspectives from the different disciplines involved including surgery, medical oncology, radiation oncology and palliative care, this pocketbook will serve as an invaluable reference for all health care professionals involved in the management of patients with colorectal cancer.
Nursing and Health Survival Guide: Cancer Care (eBook) by Ian Peate
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2014

Understanding cancer is essential to providing effective nursing care to patients and families affected. This easy-to-use reference guide puts all the necessary information at your fingertips.
Oxford Handbook of Cancer Nursing (eBook) by Mike Tadman & Dave Roberts
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2019

The Oxford Handbook of Cancer Nursing promotes a multidisciplinary approach to cancer care, with references to current best evidence and the latest developments in treatment. Detailed guidance on complex aspects of care are outlined, integrating both psychosocial and physical care to better treat the whole patient.

Cardiovascular Disorders

Heart, Stroke & Vascular Diseases - AIHW Reports & Statistics

Can Food Lower Blood Pressure?
There’s good news about lowering your blood pressure with some simple diet changes.
Subtle Signs of Heart Failure
Unlike a heart attack that hits fast and hard heart failure is a gradual process. Learn some signs and symptoms that you could be mistaking for something else.

Chronic Diseases in Australia

National Strategic Framework for Chronic Conditions

Chronic Pain

Otitis media (Middle ear infection): Causes
What causes otitis media (middle ear infection)? In this video, we will answer that question and learn more about this condition.
The Science Behind Eardrum Rupture
In thisvideo, we will explore the world of eardrum ruptures, understanding their causes, symptoms, and shedding light on the road to recovery.

Endocrinal Disorders

My Life with Addison's Disease
This video explains what it's like to suffer from this disorder of the adrenal glands and how it is managed and treated.
Parathyroid Glands and Hyperparathyroidism
This video explains the causes, symptoms and treatments for hyperparathyroidism.
Thyroid Problems
This video discusses the 3 main problems of the thyroid gland.

Autoimmune Disorders by Melissa Abramovtiz
Call Number: 616.97 ABR (City)

Publication Date: 2011

Autoimmune disorders, of which there are more than eighty types, causes a person's body to attack itself. Author Melissa Abramovitz helps readers and researchers to explore autoimmune disorders in detail, covering their diagnosis, treatments and therapies, and medical advances.
Autoimmune Disorders:Symptoms, Diagnosis and Treatment by Maria E. Petrov
Call Number: 616.97 AUT (City)

Publication Date: 2011

Autoimmune diseases arise from an overactive immune response of the body against substances and tissues normally present in the body. This book presents current research in the study of autoimmune disorders with a focus on autoimmune liver diseases; Graves hyperthyroidism; system lupus erythematosus; Behcet's disease; and Sjogren's syndrome.

Eyes

The Wills Eye Manual by Adam T. Gerstenblith; Michael P. Rabinowitz
Call Number: 617.7 GER (City)

Publication Date: 2012

Written in a concise outline format, this easy-to-read, pocket-sized reference is perfect for diagnosis and management of hundreds of ocular conditions. From symptom to treatment it covers every ocular disorder likely to be encountered in an office, emergency room, or hospital setting.

Age-Related Macular Degeneration (AMD): Types, Causes, Symptoms, Treatment
Learn about the types of macular degeneration and its causes, symptoms, diagnosis and treatment.
Animation: Diabetic Retinopathy
Learn how diabetic eye disease can cause vision loss.
Astigmatism
This video explains astigmatism, a condition where the retina is deformed, leading to blurred and/or distorted vision.
Cataract Surgery
This video explains the causes of cataracts-cloudy patches in the eye's lens and how they are treated.
Nearsightedness (Myopia)
Myopia, or nearsightedness, is where the distance between the cornea and the retina is too long. Light rays focus in front of the retina instead of on it. With myopia, close objects will look clear, but distant objects will appear blurred.
Presbyopia
This video explains presbyopia, a condition where the eye's lens looses elasticity, making it difficult to focus on nearby objects.
The Visual System: How Your Eyes Work
Learn how the different parts of your eyes work together so you can see and make sense of the world around you.
What is Hyperopia (Farsightedness)?
Hyperopia, also known as farsightedness, is when the eye focuses the image behind where the retina actually is. This causes close objects to look blurry.

Eye Health-AIHW

Gastrointestinal Disorders

Oxford Handbook of Gastrointestinal Nursing by Christine Norton; Annmarie Nunwa; Claire Taylor; Kathy Whayman; Julia Williams
Call Number: 610.73677 OXF (City)

Publication Date: 2008

This book summarizes the current state of knowledge in gastrointestinal nursing and provides guidelines on the management of patients with gastrointestinal disorders. Organized into three sections covering the principles of gastrointestinal nursing, the sections of the gut, and specific disorders of the digestive system, this handbook offers a wealth of information on how to plan, implement, manage, and evaluate nursing care for gastrointestinal patients, whether in the pediatric or adult setting.

Colorectal Cancer: An Overview

Diverticulitis
This short video explains the causes and treatment of diverticulitis.
Ostomy Care
This video explains the procedure for changing a colostomy bag and caring for the surrounding area.
Perforation & Peritonitis
This video demonstrates how a perforated ulcer can cause acute peritonitis.
What is Crohn's Disease?
This video describes the symptoms, causes and treatments for Crohn's Disease.
What is Ulcerative Colitis?
This video discusses the causes, symptoms and treatments of ulcerative colitis.

Musculoskeletal Disorders

Points to Protect Your Joints
About one in three people between ages 18 and 64 have some type of arthritis. How to protect your joints now so you won’t have problems later.
What is Gout?
This video explores the causes, symptoms and treatment for gout.

Examination of Musculoskeletal Injuries by Sandra Shultz; Peggy Houglum; David Perrin
Call Number: 617.1027 SHU (East)

Publication Date: 2016

This edition guides current and future athletic trainers and rehabilitation professionals through the examination and evaluation of musculoskeletal injuries both on and off the field. This updated fourth edition contains foundational information on a wide spectrum of injuries and the appropriate tests for examining and diagnosing them
Manual of Musculoskeletal Medicine by Grant Cooper; Joseph E. Herrera
Call Number: 616.7 COO (City)

Publication Date: 2008

Organized by anatomic region, the book provides a step-by-step approach to the diagnosis and aggressive nonsurgical management of common musculoskeletal symptoms. Each chapter opens with diagnosis and treatment algorithms for common chief complaints.
Postural Disorders and Musculoskeletal Dysfunction by Gill Solberg
Call Number: 616.7 SOL (East)

Publication Date: 2008

This evidence based book connects the theoretical and practical aspects of human movement and posture and provides basic information for therapists working with people with postural disorders.

Nervous System

Online Videos
Articles

2-Minute Neuroscience: The Brainstem
This video discusses the three components of the brainstem: the medulla oblongata, pons, and midbrain and briefly covers some of the major functions of each.
Cerebral Cortex
This video explains the structure of the largest part of the brain-the cerebral cortex.
Brain Basics, pt. 2, Cerebrum & Cerebellum
This video describes the main structures of the cerebrum and cerebellum.
Classification of Epileptic Seizures
This video describes the different types of seizures- simple partial, complex partial, tonic-clonic and absence seizures.
Degenerative Disk Disease - Spine Degeneration
This video explains the causes and treatments for degenerative disk disease.
Mechanisms & Secrets of Alzheimer's Disease: Exploring the Brain
A scientific film with a 3D modeling made on the inner mechanisms of the brain implicated in the development of Alzheimer's disease.
Multiple Sclerosis Pathophysiology
This video illustrates how lesions occur in the brain and cause multiple sclerosis.
Pathophysiology of Parkinson's Disease
An overview of how the loss of nigrostriatal dopamine neurons affects the direct and indirect pathways of the basal ganglia and results in the movement abnormalities seen in Parkinson's Disease.

Respiratory Disorders

Airways with asthma 3D animation
People with asthma have sensitive airways in their lungs which react to triggers, causing a ‘flare-up’. In a flare-up, the muscles around the airways squeeze tight, the airways swell and become narrow and there is more mucus. These changes make it harder to breathe.
Cyanosis Symptoms and Causes. Central and Peripheral Cyanosis
This video explains how a lack of oxygen in the blood leads to cyanosis.
Emphysema, Explained in 90 Seconds
This video explains the damages to alveoli caused by emphysema.
How Does Flu Make You Sick?
Flu virus infection triggers inflammation in your body. Severe inflammation can cause lung damage and other serious problems.
Laryngitis - What is it and how is it treated?
A sore throat? This animation explains what a sore throat exactly is. We tell you about the causes, symptoms and treatment of a sore throat treatment. Also, the different types of sore throat will be clarified: an acute treatment sore throat and chronic sore throat. Finally, advice is given to prevent sore throat.
Learn About Chronic Bronchitis
This video explains what happens when the bronchi in the lungs become inflamed, causing bronchitis.
Pharyngitis
This video explains the causes, symptoms and treatment of pharyngitis, as well as complications that may occur.
Sinusitis: Everything You Need to Know
This video describes what happens when the sinuses become blocked and cannot drain, causing sinusitis.
What is Allergic Rhinitis?
This video describes common causes and symptoms of allergic rhinitis, as well as how the condition affects the nose and related structures.
What is Pleurisy?
This video explains when the membrane surrounding the lungs-the pleura-becomes inflames, causing pleurisy.

The Encyclopedia of Asthma and Respiratory Disorders by Tova Navarra
Call Number: 616.238003 NAV (City & East)

Publication Date: 2003

The Encyclopedia of Asthma and Respiratory Disorders provides a comprehensive look at various breathing disorders. It covers key afflictions, symptoms, causes of asthma and lung disease, treatments and medications, key terms and jargon, statistics, and breakthrough research.
RN Expert Guides: Respiratory Care by Rita Doyle; Jennifer Dellarossa Kowalak
Call Number: 616.2004231 RNE (City)

Publication Date: 2007

This quick-reference handbook presents the principles and practices of respiratory care in a clear, concise, easy-to-follow bulleted format enhanced by abundant illustrations and tables. The book covers anatomy and physiology, assessment, diagnostic test results, and specific treatments for a range of respiratory conditions.

Skin

Common Skin Disorders

Clinical Guide to Skin and Wound Care by Cathy Thomas Hess
Call Number: 617.14 CLI (City)

Publication Date: 2013

This compact guide is vital to providing optimal care. This book includes updated advice on skin care to enable you to accurately assess, plan, and monitor wound care using the most current, best nursing practices.

Urinary System

Coping with Bowel and Bladder Problems by Barbara King; Judy Harke
Call Number: 618.976342 KIN (City)

Publication Date: 1994

Becoming incontinent is not an inevitable part of aging. The options for handling incontinence are more diverse and effective than many professionals today are aware. Now readers can arm themselves with methods for successfully managing or even eliminating it.

Urinary Tract Infection, Causes, Signs and Symptoms, Diagnosis and Treatment.
This video explains the causes and symptoms of urinary tract infections.

Chronic Kidney Disease - AIHW Reports & Statistics