Library: Nursing: Provide End of Life Care & a Palliative Approach in Nursing Practice

Provide End of Life Care & a Palliative Approach in Nursing Practice

Community Palliative Care: The Role of the Clinical Nurse Specialist

A Guide to Symptom Relief in Palliative Care

The Palliative Approach: A Resource for Healthcare Workers

Palliative Care Nursing: Principles and Evidence for Practice

Session 1

A Good Death by Australian Broadcasting Commission
Call Number: 155.937 GOO (City)

Publication Date: 2014

In this episode of 4 Corners, four terminally ill patients share their experiences of palliative care, along with their families, carers and doctors.

Session 2

Pain & Medications
Communication

Elephant in the Room Project: Improving Caring Efficacy Through Effective and Compassionate Communication with Palliative Care Patients
End of Life Clinician-Family Communication in ICU: A Retrospective Observational Study-Implications
Nurses' Nonverbal Methods of Communicating with Patients in the Terminal Phase
Nurses' Perceptions and Experiences with End-of-Life Communication and Care
Strategies to Help Initiate and Maintain the End-of-Life Discussions with Patients and Family Members

Session 3

Dyspnoea & Delirium
GIT Symptoms

Session 4

Ethical Issues
Advanced Care Planning

Session 5

Faith & Funerals by ABC TV Australia
Call Number: 393.93 FAI (City)

Publication Date: 2014

This program looks at how different cultures and religions in Australia care for and farewell their friends and family members.

End of Life Care
A video from ClickView on how you can support a patient's quality of life as they reach the last stages of life.

Encountering Grief & Loss
A video from ClickView on how to support patients, families, carers and friends as they experience grief and loss
Facing Death...Enriching Life Series
This series looks at how being "death aware" can help people enrich their lives and prepare for their own death, or the death of a loved one.

Session 6

Self-Care & Staff Wellness

Acting Compassionately for Others is Good for You
Hofmeyer, A, Gibson, T & Kennedy, K 2017, 'Acting compassionately for others is good for you', Australian Nursing & Midwifery Journal, vol. 25, no. 6, p. 45, EBSCOhost, CINAHL Plus with Full Text.
Death, Dying and Reflective Practice
Coulson, S 2014, 'Death, dying and reflective practice', Australian Nursing and Midwifery Journal, vol. 21, no. 10, p. 45, Health Collection, Informit.
Is Work Stress in Palliative Care Nurses a Cause for Concern? A Literature Review
Peters, L, Cant, R, Sellick, K, O'Connor, M, Lee, S & Barney, S 2012, 'Is work stress in palliative care nurses a cause for concern? A literature review', International Journal of Palliative Nursing, vol. 18, no. 11, pp. 561-567, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, EBSCOhost.
Stress in Hospice at Home Nurses: A Qualitative Study of Their Experiences of Their Work and Wellbeing
Tunnah, K, Jones, A & Johnstone, R 2012 'Stress in hospice at home nurses: a qualitative study of their experiences of their work and wellbeing', International Journal of Palliative Nursing, vol. 18, no. 6, pp. 283-289, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, EBSCOhost.
Subjective Experiences of Coping Among Caregivers in Palliative Care
Uren, SA & Graham, TM 2013, 'Subjective experiences of coping among caregivers in palliative care',Online Journal of Issues in Nursing, vol. 18, no. 2, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, EBSCOhost.

More Articles

End of Life Directions for Aged Care: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples
ELDAC 2020, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, ELDAC.
Facilitating a Good Death in Residential Aged are Settings, with Support from Community Palliative Care
O'Connor, M & Allison, M 2020, Facilitating a good death in residfential aged care settings, with support from community palliative care', Australian Nursing & Midwifery Journal, vol. 26, no. 10, p. 41, retrieved from CINAHL Plus with Full Text, EBSCOhost.
Life Before Death: Improving Palliative Care for Older Australians
Borbasi J 2017, Life before death: improving palliative care for older Australians, The Centre for Independent Studies.
The Medicalisation of Dying from Natural Causes (Pages 34-36)
Palliative Care Services in Australia
Australian Institute of Health & Welfare 2017, Palliative care services in Australia, Australian Government.
Providing Culturally Responsive Palliative Care to Australian Indigenous Peoples
Australian entry-to-practice health professional students will be supported to develop the knowledge and skills needed to provide quality care, across various settings for Australian Indigenous peoples with life-limiting illness, and their families and communities.
Understanding End-of-Life Care in Australian Hospitals
Voluntary Assisted Death: A Poignant/Clinical Dilemma
O'Connor, M 2017, 'Voluntary assisted death: a poignant/clinical dilemma', Australian Nursing & Midwifery Journal, vol. 25, no. 3, p. 33, EBSCOhost, CINAHL PLus with Full Text.

Useful Resources

Facing Death...Enriching Life Series
This series looks at how being "death aware" can help people enrich their lives and prepare for their own death, or the death of a loved one.
Barwon Health Palliative Care Podcasts
Dying to Talk
These resources serve as a great tool for starting conversations around palliative and end-of-life care.
Five Common Myths about Palliative Care and What the Science Really Says
This article is part of a series on demystifying palliative care, where experts explain the process of end-of-life care in Australia.
National Palliative Care Standards
Palliative Care: Research and Treatment
Available online from the Gale Onefile: Health and Medicine database
Palliative Care and End-of-Life Care (Australian Indigenous Health InfoNet)
The Palliative care and end-of-life portal is designed to assist the health workforce who provide care for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, their families and communities.
Palliative Care Hospitalisations Rising for Australians at End-of-Life
Information and data on trends around palliative care-related hospitalisations.
Palliative Care Service Development Guidelines
Palliative Care Services in Australia
Australian Institute of Health & Welfare 2017, Palliative care services in Australia, Australian Government.