Library: Nursing: Confirm Physical Health Status

Confirm Physical Health Status

Anatomy TV (Primal Pictures)

The Anatomy TV database includes the ‘Human Anatomy & Physiology’ and ‘Human Anatomy for Massage and Manual Therapies’ packages. These packages include 3D images and videos of anatomy and body systems, as well as techniques for massage and manual therapies for a range of conditions.

Anatomy & Physiology

Anatomy for Beginners by Gunther von Hagens
Call Number: 611 ANA (City & East)

Publication Date: 2006

During each episode of this four-part series, von Hagens carries out a human dissection and focuses on a different set of anatomical systems: movement, circulation, digestion and reproduction.
Body Systems: Explained through Dissection and Animation by Classroom Video
Call Number: 612 BOD (City)

Publication Date: 2003

This video looks at the systems that deliver oxygen and nutrients to our tissues, and remove waste products such as carbon dioxide.
Healthy Bodies: An Introduction to the Human Body Systems by Ideas That Work
Call Number: 612 HEA (City)

Publication Date: 2010

Healthy Bodies is an introduction to the anatomy and physiology of the human body systems.

Anatomy Series
This 10-part series describes the circulatory, digestive, nervous, respiratory, skeletal, muscular, reproductive, urinary, integumentary, and endocrine systems. Using didactics, art, graphics and animation, these programs discuss normal physiology as well as pathologic processes associated with each system.
An Introduction to Anatomy: An Animated Atlas - Series
This series graphically illustrates the anatomy and physiology of the human body systems in six animated videos. It identifies organs, shows where they are located, and explains what they do. The series covers the skeletal and muscular systerms, the nervous system, the circulatory system, the digestive and excretory systems, and the reproductive system.
Vital Signs
This ClickView video demonstrates how to monitor vital signs, including how to measure temperature, pulse, respiration and blood pressure. It also outlines how to measure oxygen saturation, blood glucose levels and how to perform a urinalysis.

Anatomy and Physiology Coloring Workbook: A Complete Study Guide by Eliane N. Marieb; Simone Brito
Call Number: 612 MAR (City)

Publication Date: 2018

Combining a wide range and variety of engaging colouring activities, exercises, and self-assessments into an all-in-one Study Guide, the Anatomy and Physiology Coloring Workbook helps students simplify their study of anatomy and physiology.
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses by Roger Watson
Call Number: 612 WAT (City)

Publication Date: 2018

This edition is an excellent reference resource in anatomy and physiology for students of nursing and allied health, as well as for healthcare assistants. This new edition includes: Clear text, diagrams, images and tables to aid the learning process and clinical examples to help relate the theory to practice.
Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Easy by Laura M. Willis
Call Number: 612 ANA (City)

Publication Date: 2018

This colourful text gives you the pure-and-simple clarity you need to understand the basic structure and functions of all major body systems, while also guiding you through genetics, nutrition, reproduction, and more. This book defines anatomic terms such as cell structure, cell reproduction and energy generation, the four basic tissue types and their characteristics, and more.
Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. Gilroy; Brian R. MacPherson
Call Number: 611 ATL (East)

Publication Date: 2016

With unmatched accuracy, quality, and clarity, the Atlas of Anatomy is now fully revised and updated and is the highest quality anatomy atlas available today. With over 1,900 exquisitely detailed and accurate illustrations, the Atlas helps you master the details of human anatomy.
Essentials of Human Anatomy and Physiology (eBook) by Elaine N. Marieb
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2021

This best-selling laboratory manual features a wide variety of exercises and activities designed to meet the needs of any anatomy & physiology laboratory course. Known for its thorough, clearly-written exercises, and full-color art, this lab manual gives you a hands-on laboratory experience.
Fundamentals of anatomy & physiology by Frederic H. Martini, Judi L. Nath, Edwin F. Bartholomew
Call Number: 612

Publication Date: 2024

The 12th Edition delivers thoroughly updated content and enhanced art and figures to provide the most recent research and to support student learning. An extensive review and revision ensures the content aligns better with current standards related to diversity, equity, and inclusion and reflects all learners' lived experiences. Updates include improved language-sensitivity and discussions of gender and reproduction in the genetics and human development chapters.
Fundamentals of applied pathophysiology by Ian Peate, Sufyan Akram, Michele Dowlman, Ellie Kirov, Bonnie Williams
Call Number: 616.07

Publication Date: 2023

This highly visual text is organised by system and the associated disorders, including helpful information for students to look out for when caring for patients, such as: vital signs data, ‘Red Flag’ boxes alerting students to key information they should consider when treating the patient, and ‘Medicines Management’ boxes that indicate key information for the condition.
Medical Terminology: a Short Course by Davi-Ellen Chabner
Call Number: 610.14 CHA (City)

Publication Date: 2023

This text helps you master the basics of medical vocabulary - including the most frequently encountered suffixes, prefixes, and word roots. A text/workbook format lets you practice and interact with medical terminology on almost every page through exercises, labeling, and pronunciations. Case studies and real-world vignettes demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice.
Medical Terminology for Health Professions by Ann Ehrlich; Carol L. Schroeder
Call Number: 610.14 EHR

(City & East Campus Libraries)
Pathology for the Health Professions by Ivan Damjanov; Anamarija Morovic Perry; Kyle Perry
Call Number: 616.07 DAM

ISBN: 9780323654128

Publication Date: 2022

Pathology for the Health Professions, 6th Edition is the best resource for clear, concise, and clinically relevant information on general pathology. Praised for its stunning collection of pathology images, this engaging, easy-to-understand text covers the most frequently encountered diseases that you need to know to succeed in today's healthcare environment.

The Handy Anatomy Answer Book
This online book from Gale Onefile: Health and Medicine answers your questions about the body's systems.

\Biodigital Human
Login with your Google or Facebook account to explore a 3D model of the human body and find out about anatomical structures and conditions.
Clinical Communication (Flinders University)
A website from Flinders University including information on medical abbreviations, communicating with patients and co-workers and job titles within the nursing industry
Get Body Smart
Interactive human anatomy and physiology, including quizzes
InnerBody
Medical Terminology: A Thru Z
An online medical dictionary of prefixes, suffixes and root words used in medical terminology.
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary
A medical dictionary, also includes pronunciations

Assessing & Observing Patient Health

Assessment Playlist
A series of videos demonstrating how to conduct a range of physical assessments
Cell adaptation
In this video, Dr Matt explains how cells adapt to stressors, either through atrophy, hypertrophy, hyperplasia, metaplasia and dysplasia.
Health Assessment in Nursing-Introduction
This entertaining ClickView program produced in a style similar to the sitcom 'Scrubs' is designed to provide the viewer with the foundation knowledge required to conduct a thorough health assessment.
Health Assessment in Nursing-Part 2: Collecting Subjective Data
This ClickView video explains how to effectively obtain crucial patient data
Observations Playlist
A series of videos demonstrating how to conduct a range of physical observations
Vital Signs
This ClickView video demonstrates how to monitor vital signs, including how to measure temperature, pulse, respiration and blood pressure. It also outlines how to measure oxygen saturation, blood glucose levels and how to perform a urinalysis.

Health Assessment in Nursing by Janet R. Weber; Jane H. Kelley
Call Number: 616.075 WEB (City)

Publication Date: 2018

This book covers every step in the assessment process, a focus on diversity and health assessment through the lifespan, a striking photo and illustration program that includes photos of practicing nurses performing assessments, dynamic online video clips and animations, and much more.
Health Assessment Made Incredibly Visual! by Laura M. Wills
Call Number: 616.075 HEA (City)

Publication Date: 2017

Hundreds of colorful drawings, diagrams, and photos support easy-to-follow, expert nursing instruction on the many skills needed for physical exams and assessments of every body system, from head to toe.
Rapid Assessment of the Acutely Ill Patient by Sheila Adam; Mandy Odell; John Welch
Call Number: 616.075 ADA (City)

Publication Date: 2010

This book sets out the principles and practices needed for assessment of patients. The focus is on patient assessment, interpretation and evaluation of data, immediate management of significant problems, ongoing and further assessments in order to improve clinical outcomes.

Vital Signs (Body Temperature, Pulse Rate, Respiration Rate, Blood Pressure)
This website outlines 4 key vital signs and how they are observed.

Blood

10 Things to Know About: Blood
Blood is a vitally important part of the body. It provides the oxygen our organs need to survive, carries platelets that clot when we cut ourselves, and prevents us from getting infections. But it is also immensely complex.
Blood, the Lymphatic System and Immunity
In this video from ClickView, you will find out the vital roles that blood, the lymphatic system and immunity play in the human body.

Monitoring and Assessing a Patient Receiving A Blood Transfusion

Cardiovascular System

The Cardiovascular System at a Glance by Philip I. Aaronson; Michelle J. Connolly; Jeremy P. T. Ward
Call Number: 612.1 AAR (City)

Publication Date: 2013

This text provides an overview of the cardiovascular system and how to apply this knowledge. An introduction to the cardiovascular system is followed by topics including anatomy and histology, blood and body fluids, biochemistry, pathology and therapeutics, and clinical examination and investigation.

Circulatory System

Blood Pressure Measurement
Blood pressure measurement is demonstrated.
The Cardiovascular System
This ClickView video explains the functions of the cardiovascular system, and the structures that allow these functions to be performed.
The Healthy Heart
Learn about heart sounds lub and dub, stroke volume, cardiac output, blood pressure, arterial pulse, and Korotkoff sounds.
The Heart and the Systemic Circuit
The video explains the function of the human heart, the centre of blood circulation.
Neurovascular Observations
Neurovascular observations is demonstrated.
Pulmonary and Systemic Circulations
Explains the pulmonary and systemic circulation in the human body.
Pulse Oximeter
This device provides a quick guide to the saturation of oxygen in the blood, but it doesn't measure hemoglobin. An expert explains the limitations and proper technique for pulse oximetry.

Lung, Chest and Bowel Sounds Assessment Guide

Cells & Tissues

Biology: Cell Structure
This video explains the structure of cells and the functions that these structures perform.
Tissues and the Integumentary System
This ClickView video teaches about how the epidermis, the outer layer of the skin, is a renewing layer of cells, about tissue regeneration, and about how researchers are able to grow different types of tissue in a laboratory setting.

Cells: The Building Blocks by Eight Mile Plains
Call Number: 571.6 CEL (City)

Publication Date: 2007

This video takes a close-up look at the lowest common denominator of all life: the cell. It illustrates essential cellular processes, as well as key cellular landmarks.

Digestive System & Metabolism

The Digestive System: Basic Science and Clinical Conditions by Margaret E. Smith; Dion G. Morton
Call Number: 612.3 SMI (City)

Publication Date: 2010

This textbook on the digestive system covers the anatomy, physiology and biochemistry of the system, all presented in a clinically relevant context. This concise text covers the core anatomy, physiology and biochemistry in an integrated manner.

The Digestive System, Nutrition and Metabolism
This video from ClickView shows students how the body absorbs lipids differently from carbohydrates and proteins.
Physiology Basics: the Digestive System, Animation
Components of the gastrointestinal tract (GI tract) and digestive enzymes.

Digestive System
Find out all about the Digestive System with this website from Visible Body. Includes information on the anatomy and physiology of the digestive system, ingestion, peristalsis, accessory organs, the absorption of nutrients and elimination of wastes and common diseases and disorders of the digestive system.

Endocrine System

Hormonal System (Endocrine)
This website outlines the functions of the glads forming the endocrine system, along with the disorders associated with these glands. It also contains links to more information on the problems and conditions that affect the endocrine system.
Endocrine System
Information and videos from Visible Body, including how the endocrine glands work and how hormones regulate body functions.

The Endocrine System: Basic Science and Clinical Conditions by Joy P. Hinson; Peter Raven; Shern L. Chew
Call Number: 612.4 HIN

Publication Date: 2010

This textbook on the endocrine system covers the anatomy, physiology and biochemistry of the system, all presented in a clinically relevant context. This concise text covers the core anatomy, physiology and biochemistry in an integrated manner.

Blood Glucose Measurement
Blood glucose measurement is demonstrated.

Lymphatic System

Websites
Online Videos

Lymphatic System
Find out about the lymphatic system with this website from Visible Body. Learn about how the lymphatic system protects the body and how the immune system reacts and adapts to disease.

Blood, the Lymphatic System and Immunity
In this video from ClickView, you will find out the vital roles that blood, the lymphatic system and immunity play in the human body.

Muscular System

Muscular System
Lots of information from Visible Body on muscles, including origin and insertion points, types of muscles tissue, attachments and actions and muscle contractions.

The Muscular System
In this ClickView video, you will find out how muscles not only support us and allow us to move, but also pump our blood and move food through our digestive system.

The Musculoskeletal System: Basic Science and Clinical Conditions by Philip Sambrook; Leslie Schrieber; Andrew Ellis (Editor); Thomas K. F. Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: 616.7 SAM (City)

Publication Date: 2010

This textbook on the musuloskeletal system covers the anatomy, physiology and biochemistry of the system, all presented in a clinically relevant context. This concise text covers the core anatomy, physiology and biochemistry in an integrated manner.

Nervous System

Nervous System
Explore the nervous system with interactive images and information on the anatomy and physiology of the different components of this complex system.
Nervous System
Information and videos from Visible Body about the nervous system, including functions of nerves, how neurons send messages, the brain's anatomy and function and the five senses

Neurological Assessment and GCS

The Nervous System: Basic Science and Clinical Conditions by Adina T. Michael-Titus; Patricia Revest; Peter Shortland
Call Number: 612.8 MIC (City)

Publication Date: 2010

This textbook on the nervous system covers the anatomy, physiology and biochemistry of the system, all presented in a clinically relevant context. This concise text covers the core anatomy, physiology and biochemistry in an integrated manner.

Assessing Body Temperature Demonstration
We discuss normal ranges, normal variants, and the mechanisms that underlie changes in the objective measurement of vital signs.
Glasgow Coma Scale
There are many different assessment tools for neurological function, however, the most widely known and used tool is the Glasgow Coma Scale.
Neurological Assessment & Observation
Neurological assessment and observation is demonstrated.
Neurovascular Observations
Neurovascular observations is demonstrated.

Renal System

Urinary System
Information and videos from Visible Body, including urinary system structures, kidney overview, urine formation, urine storage and urinary system pathologies.
Urinary System-BetterHealth Channel
This websites gives an overview of the structures forming the urinary system, as well as common problems and conditions which affect these structures.
Urinary System: Facts, Functions and Diseases
This website contains images and descriptions of the main components of the urinary system, as well as conditions and diseases which affect the renal system.
Urinary System-Inner Body
This website provides an overview and interactive model of the structures which form the urinary system.

How Do Your Kidney's Work?
This video explains the structure and function of the kidneys.
Nitrogenous Waste Products
Urinary System-The Kidneys
Brief overview of the basic structure and function of the urinary system and kidneys.
Vital Signs
Chapter 9 looks at the procedure and interpretation of urinalysis

Principles of Monitoring Renal Function

Reproductive System

Websites

Respiratory System

Respiratory Exam
An entertaining video demonstrating how to conduct a thorough respiratory examination.
The Respiratory System
In this video from ClickView you will learn about internal respiration and external respiration.

Respiratory System

The Respiratory System: Basic Science and Clinical Conditions by Andrew Davies; Carl Moores
Call Number: 612.2 DAV (City)

Publication Date: 2010

This textbook on the respiratory system covers the anatomy, physiology and biochemistry of the system, all presented in a clinically relevant context. This concise text covers the core anatomy, physiology and biochemistry in an integrated manner.

Senses

The Visual System: How Your Eyes Work
Learn how the different parts of your eyes work together so you can see and make sense of the world around you.

Touch: The Forgotten Sense by Kun Chang
Call Number: 612.88 TOU (City)

Publication Date: 2001

The sense of touch is the first to develop in the human embryo and the last to disappear in old age. This scientific and artistic program aims to create an awareness of the importance and beauty of human touch.

Anatomy of the Eye

Skeletal System

The Bones of It: an Introduction to the Skeleton
This engaging and highly informative programme from ClickView covers a wealth of key learning content relating to the skeletal system.
The Skeletal System
In this ClickView video, you'll learn how skeletal muscles work with bone to provide strength, power, and grace to the human form.

Skeleton

The Musculoskeletal System: Basic Science and Clinical Conditions by Philip Sambrook; Leslie Schrieber; Andrew Ellis (Editor); Thomas K. F. Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: 616.7 SAM (City)

Publication Date: 2010

This textbook on the musuloskeletal system covers the anatomy, physiology and biochemistry of the system, all presented in a clinically relevant context. This concise text covers the core anatomy, physiology and biochemistry in an integrated manner.

Skin & Body Membranes

Assessing Skin Conditions
Beginning with an overview of the structure and function of human skin, the programme continues with clear, insightful explanations of the terminology students need to recognise and describe common skin conditions, how to perform a skin assessment and what to do with those findings.
Examining Skin Growths
This video describes different types of skin cancers and growths and how to recognise them.
How to Perform a Skin Assessment
Skin assessment findings can direct one towards suitable treatment. Assess the patient's environment and history. Patient education is vital. They must know what to look for and what will make their conditions worse.
Skin Assessments Results
Skin assessment findings can direct one towards suitable treatment. Assess the patient's environment and history. Patient education is vital. They must know what to look for and what will make their conditions worse.
Skin Assessment Terminology
Using correct terminology in skin assessment is very important. Primary lesion terminology includes macule, papule, nodule, and plaque. Secondary lesions are described as scale, crust, excoriation, lichenification.
Skin Integrity and Pressure Ulcers
In this ClickView program we see how understanding the causes and staging of pressure ulcers can lead to improved management.
Tissues and the Integumentary System
This ClickView video teaches about how the epidermis, the outer layer of the skin, is a renewing layer of cells, about tissue regeneration, and about how researchers are able to grow different types of tissue in a laboratory setting.
Wound Management: A Nurse's Guide
Wound Management: Staging Pressure Areas
This ClickView programme addresses wound management and helps coach your staff in the principles of good skin care and the management of pressure areas.